Psyche logo

Sunday Sessions

On Anxiety

By MacoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Sunday Sessions
Photo by Mitchell Hartley on Unsplash

I'm constantly anxious these days. I feel like the woman in the photograph. As if I'm staring down the rest of my life in this very moment and I... I have to do something. Right? Well, maybe not. One of the hardest lessons I've learnt (and still continue to learn) is that patience is definitely a virtue. Not just in terms of high moral standards, more-so in terms of me trying to be a better person, each and every day. You simply must be patient in the grind. It's that patience that gives you a chance to think; that pause. That pause to think, then to prioritize and finally make a decision. A lot of our decisions are based too much in anxiety. I get it though. I'm anxious too, all the time. In these moments my mind is like a prison. I second-guess my instincts and the whole decision-making process gets corrupted with fear, with doubt, with anxiety.

Anxiety is that feeling of being afraid of the future. It's that feeling when you don't know what to order off the menu. They have your favorite Short Ribs but they also have that real juicy, freshly butchered Tenderloin, not to mention their Lamb Chops (my favorite). It's all so good right? What do I want? Waiter's coming up now. It's my turn to order. Order quick. "I'll have the Beef Tartare." Shit. You instantly regret it. You should've gotten the Short Ribs but you wanted to try something new and so the Beef Tartare it was. That right there is anxiety. Specifically when it was your time to make a decision. It was your anxiety that made the decision for you. Anxiety leaves us on the back seat in our own lives, if we let it. Which is why we have to be more aware of our anxiety. Practice that pause if you have doubt or fear about a decision. Look, I know we live in this super fast, super busy world where decisions need to be made like. That. However, because of this you also live in a world where mental health is more important than ever. We get bombarded with constant stimuli and this leaves us wanting in regards to reflection and self-awareness.

In order to understand something we feel internally we have to do some serious introspection. I remember having such a serious anxiety attack I couldn't do anything. I felt physically crippled by this emotion. Literally. It was at this point I knew I wanted to learn how to deal with my anxiety. This is how the process begins. As I'm sure you've also heard, identifying you have a problem is the first step to solving said problem. I would recommend you find somewhere silent, with no external stimuli so far as you can control. Once you find this place you can think. For me it would be in a park because I find open spaces helps my mind think clearer. For you it may be the same or perhaps quite the opposite. The key is to find somewhere where you can be alone because introspection is really all you. No one, I repeat, no one knows you better than yourself. Once you find this physical location, it's time to go into yourself. Ask yourself, what causes my anxiety? Why does it keep returning? Here, it's important that you be vulnerable and honest with yourself. Really look inside and try to plot your problems. Bring a book, write down your thoughts and feelings. Important to know is that this isn't a quick fix. Personal growth takes time, effort and consistency. Most of all, it takes patience. Be patient with your emotions. It will be okay, you will be better tomorrow for the work you do today. But only if you work today in earnest. Remember that. Speak it to yourself and keep going.

Never let life put you in the back seat. You will fall, you will be fearful. But, YOU won't stop. YOU will always keep going. Take care of yourself.

You're gonna have a great week.

anxiety
1

About the Creator

Maco

for the moments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.