Psyche logo

Quitting is hard.

Giving up quitting is harder

By Tressa RosePublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Quitting is hard.
Photo by Mishal Ibrahim on Unsplash

So I have been one to quit many things in my life. Alcohol and various hard drugs, and don't get me wrong... It was not an easy road. In fact, it took me a number of years to get to a point where I was able to walk away from those substances for any consistent period of time.

Now I am currently feeling really discouraged with trying to quit vaping. The struggle is real!

I have quit smoking once before in my life for about a year. But when I quit that time, it was a bit easier for me because I was in a facility where no smoking was allowed. I did it all the same though. Then my stupid ass started again because of social influences...DUMB!!!

And it has been since 2017 that I have been smoking. Well I switched from cigarettes to vaping about 6 months ago because I thought it was the better choice, and cigarettes started to just become very unappealing to me over the last year.

I was thrilled when it was so easy for me to switch from smoking to vaping, I didn't struggle at all. I loved the lack of odor, and the taste was refreshing and fruity, and next thing I know I am finding myself constantly hitting my vape.

Well long story short I realized it's become a bit of a problem for me because I am constantly feeling like puffing on my vape, and it has only been 6 months, but already it is starting to get old. And I know it isn't good for my body either. I hear arguments all the time about which one is worse, but the reality is that they are both bad.

What I didn't realize though is how much harder vaping is to quit vs. smoking. It's so hard that I have been trying to do it with the gum and patches, but have ultimately failed.

I keep seeing my brain is finding ways to talk myself into taking puffs and buying more juice.

But I truly want to quit! I'm sick of feeling like I have to depend on my vape to get me through the day. I am sick of puffing on it constantly, and now I'm feeling like I am getting nothing in return except a lower account balance.

So I had a radical Idea that has worked for me in the past, same theory, different substances.

Let me quickly say that I DO NOT reccomend this way for people to quit something, there are much healthier ways, but in my own personal experience it has seemed to work out for me.

So I am still totally grossed out by smoking cigarettes. Hate the smell, hate the taste, hate the nasty feeling it leaves in my chest after taking a few drags. So... as of yesterday (when I ran out of my vape juice) I went and purchased a pack of cigarettes.

Yes, I am going to try to quit vaping by weaning off the nicotine with nasty ass smokes, at least to get my tolerance lower so that hopefully the patches will be more effective.

I understand some people are going to be like "What the fuck??"

That's ok, because as I said I wouldn't recommend this to a friend. But hear me out.

In my personal experience, I tried getting off of heroin with methadone, and the methadone was so bad I actually had to use the heroin to get off it. Then I was able to get off the heroin by drinking alcohol for the duration of the withdrawls.

Again, not recommending it, it was a long and hard road. I was just lucky enough to be successful trying it.

So I am hoping I can do the same with switching to smoking, just long enough that my tolerance for nicotine goes down a bit, then starting the patches and gum again. I have already gotten rid of my vape so I won't be able to talk myself into using it, and it's crazy how little cigarettes I have smoke since yesterday because they really just don't appease me anymore.

I hope this works out. I'm determined to find a way. Let me know in the comments how you've been able to quit, or if the struggle is real for you too! Thanks for reading!

By Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

copingCONTENT WARNINGanxietyaddiction
Like

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.