Psyche logo

My Journey from Hair Loss Depression to Self-Acceptance

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 7 min read
Like

I have always been proud of my hair. It was thick, shiny, and long, and I loved to style it in different ways. I received many compliments on my hair, and it boosted my confidence and self-esteem.

But everything changed when I started to notice more and more hair falling out in the shower, on the pillow, and on the brush. I was terrified and confused. What was happening to me? Why was I losing my hair?

I went to see a doctor, who diagnosed me with alopecia areata, an autoimmune disorder that causes patches of hair loss on the scalp and other parts of the body. He said there was no cure for it, and that it could get worse or better depending on various factors. He prescribed me some steroids and creams to apply on my scalp, but they didn’t seem to work.

I felt like my world was falling apart. I was only 25 years old, and I was losing one of the most important aspects of my identity and appearance. I felt ugly, worthless, and hopeless. I isolated myself from my friends and family, who tried to support me but didn’t understand what I was going through. I avoided going out in public, fearing that people would stare at me or judge me. I hated looking at myself in the mirror, seeing the bald spots that grew bigger every day.

I sank into a deep depression, and I didn’t know how to get out of it. I tried to find some hope or relief online, but all I saw were ads for expensive and risky treatments that promised to restore my hair. I was tempted to try them, but I was also scared of the side effects or complications. I felt like I had no options, no solutions, no future.

Then one day, I stumbled upon a blog post that changed my life. It was written by a woman who had alopecia areata for over 10 years, and she shared her story of how she coped with it and learned to love herself. She wrote about how she tried different treatments, such as medications, injections, lasers, and even surgery, but none of them worked for her. She spent thousands of dollars and endured a lot of pain and disappointment, but her hair never grew back.

She said that she realized that she was wasting her time and energy on something that she couldn’t control, and that she decided to accept her condition and embrace her baldness. She said that she stopped hiding her scalp with hats or wigs, and that she started to show her true self to the world. She said that she discovered a new sense of freedom and confidence, and that she received a lot of positive feedback and support from others.

She also mentioned that she tried red light therapy as a natural and safe way to stimulate hair growth. She said that red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red and near-infrared light to activate the cells in the hair follicles, which helps them grow and repair. She said that she used a red light therapy cap for hair growth at home for a few minutes a day, and that she noticed some improvement in her hair density and quality.

She said that red light therapy was not a miracle cure, but it was a gentle and effective way to enhance her hair health. She said that she didn’t expect to regrow all her hair back, but she was happy with the results that she got. She said that red light therapy helped her feel more comfortable and confident with her appearance.

She ended her post with a message of encouragement and inspiration for anyone who was suffering from hair loss depression. She said that hair loss is not the end of the world, and that it doesn’t define who you are or what you can do. She said that you can still be beautiful, successful, and happy without hair. She said that you can still find joy and meaning in life without hair.

She said that you are not alone, and that there are many people who understand what you are going through. She said that you can find support, comfort, and advice from others who have hair loss online or in person. She said that you can learn from their stories and tips on how to deal with hair loss.

She said that you can cope with hair loss depression by seeking professional help, trying red light therapy cap for hair loss at home , finding alternative ways to style your hair , focusing on other aspects of yourself , connecting with others who understand , practicing gratitude , being kind to yourself , expressing yourself creatively , engaging in activities that make you happy , pursuing your hobbies , interests , goals , dreams , learning something new , challenging yourself , etc.

She said that you can overcome your hair loss depression by accepting your condition , embracing your baldness , showing your true self , discovering your freedom , confidence , etc.

She said that you can cope with hair loss depression by following these steps:

  • Seek professional help
  • Try red light therapy
  • Find alternative ways to style your hair
  • Focus on other aspects of yourself
  • Connect with others who understand

I was moved by her words, and I felt a spark of hope in my heart. I decided to follow her advice, and I started to make some changes in my life. I contacted a therapist, who helped me deal with my emotions and thoughts. I ordered a red light therapy cap for hair growth online, and I started to use it regularly. I experimented with different hair products, accessories, and colors, and I found some styles that suited me. I made a list of my strengths, skills, talents, achievements, values, and passions, and I reminded myself of them every day. I reached out to my friends and family, who welcomed me back with open arms. I joined a support group online, where I met many people who had hair loss and who shared their experiences and advice.

Slowly but surely, I began to feel better about myself and my situation. I realized that hair loss was not a curse, but a challenge that I could overcome. I realized that hair loss was not a flaw, but a feature that made me unique. I realized that hair loss was not a barrier, but an opportunity to grow and learn.

I am not saying that it was easy or quick. It took me a lot of time and effort to cope with my hair loss depression. It was a long and hard journey, full of ups and downs, trials and errors, successes and failures. But it was also a rewarding and enlightening journey, full of discoveries and surprises, joys and sorrows, lessons and insights.

Today, I am proud to say that I have overcome my hair loss depression. I have learned to accept myself as I am, with or without hair. I have learned to love myself as I am, with or without hair. I have learned to live my life as I want, with or without hair.

I am not ashamed of my baldness anymore. I am not afraid of showing it to the world anymore. I am not letting it stop me from pursuing my dreams anymore.

I am happy, confident, and free.

If you are reading this, and you are suffering from hair loss depression, please know that you are not alone. Please know that you can cope with it. Please know that you can overcome it.

Please know that you are beautiful, valuable, and worthy.

Please know that you are more than your hair.

Please know that you are amazing.

Thank you for reading my story. If you liked it, please leave a comment below and share it with others who may benefit from it. Thank you for your support!

workproduct reviewdisorderdepressionadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.