Journal logo

My Hair Transplant Journey: How I Got My Confidence Back

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have always struggled with hair loss since my early twenties. It was a huge blow to my self-esteem and confidence. I tried everything to stop it, from medications to supplements to shampoos, but nothing worked. I felt like I was losing a part of myself every time I looked in the mirror or saw a clump of hair on my pillow.

I decided to take the plunge and get a hair transplant surgery when I was 35. I had done a lot of research and found a reputable and qualified surgeon who specialized in the FUE technique. FUE stands for follicular unit extraction, which involves taking individual hair follicles from the back or sides of the scalp and implanting them into the balding areas. This technique is less invasive and leaves no visible scars.

I was nervous and excited on the day of the surgery. The procedure took about six hours and was relatively painless. The surgeon and his team were very professional and friendly. They explained everything to me and made sure I was comfortable throughout the process.

After the surgery, I had to follow some post-operative care instructions, such as washing my scalp gently, avoiding sun exposure, and taking some antibiotics and painkillers. I also had to wear a bandana or a hat for a few weeks to protect the transplanted area.

The first two weeks after the surgery were the hardest. My scalp was swollen, red, and sore. The transplanted hairs started to fall out, which was normal and expected. This is called shock loss and it does not affect the survival of the grafts. I was worried that the surgery had failed, but the surgeon assured me that this was part of the healing process and that new hairs would grow back in a few months.

The next few months were also challenging. The transplanted area looked sparse and bald, as the grafts entered a resting phase and did not produce any new hair. I felt like I had wasted my money and time on a useless procedure. I was tempted to give up and shave my head, but I decided to be patient and wait for the results.

Around the fifth month after the surgery, I started to notice some changes. The transplanted area began to sprout new hairs, which were thin, fine, and curly at first, but gradually thickened and straightened over time. The new hairs also had a different color and texture than my original hairs, but they blended in better as they grew longer.

By the ninth month after the surgery, I was amazed by the transformation. The transplanted area looked natural and dense, with a similar or improved hairline than before. The new hairs also had a similar or better quality than my original hairs, with more strength, shine, and elasticity. I felt like a new person, with more confidence and happiness.

I was so happy with the results that I decided to try another treatment that could enhance my hair growth and improve my scalp health: red light therapy for hair loss. Red light therapy is a natural and non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and blood circulation in the scalp. Red light therapy can help improve hair growth by:

  • Increasing the production of ATP (energy) in the hair follicles, which can enhance their function and survival
  • Increasing the delivery of oxygen and nutrients to the scalp, which can nourish and repair the damaged tissues
  • Increasing the expression of growth factors and stem cells in the scalp, which can promote new hair formation
  • Decreasing inflammation and oxidative stress in the scalp, which can reduce hair loss and improve scalp health

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be effective for hair growth in both men and women with various types of hair loss. Red light therapy can also be used at home with a device such as a red light cap for hair growth. A red light cap for hair growth is a wearable device that emits red or near-infrared light directly onto your scalp. You can use it for a few minutes a day, a few times a week, to see noticeable results in a few months.

I have been using a red light cap for hair growth for about three months now, and I can say that it has made a difference. My hair feels thicker, fuller, and healthier than ever before. My scalp also feels more comfortable and less irritated. I have noticed less shedding and more growth in both my transplanted and non-transplanted areas.

I am very grateful for both my hair transplant surgery and my red light therapy cap. They have changed my life for the better. I no longer feel insecure or embarrassed about my hair loss. I feel more confident and attractive in every aspect of my life.

If you are suffering from hair loss and are considering getting a hair transplant surgery or trying red light therapy, I hope this article has given you some insight and inspiration. Hair loss is not the end of the world, and there are solutions that can help you restore your hair growth and confidence. You are not alone, and you deserve to feel good about yourself.

Thank you for reading my story and I hope you enjoyed it. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you and learn about your experience with hair loss and hair growth treatments. Have a wonderful day!

product reviewhow toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.