Psyche logo

Healing From the Pain of Emotional Abuse

Rebuild Your Resilience After Emotional Abuse

By Som DuttPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Healing From the Pain of Emotional Abuse
Photo by Molnár Bálint on Unsplash

Taming the pain that lingers inside,

From that which has left you to hide;

Removing the shards of hurtful lies,

That had you so rooted in disguise;

The keys to your freedom and recovery,

Are the ones that you must discover;

Your path to healing lies in the wait,

The strength you'll find will never abate;

The door to a brighter tomorrow,

Where worries and sorrows no longer follow;

Where love and acceptance will never cease,

Where you will once more find peace;

A way to break free from the chains,

That had held you so tight in its reins;

To leave behind the fear and dread,

And take back the life that you once led;

The power to rise above the pain,

And never again be held by its chain;

The courage to be strong and survive,

And pull yourself out from the depths of the dive;

The strength to leave the familiar behind,

And follow the path of a more positive kind;

The will to let go of the hurt and the shame,

And find yourself more worthy of fame;

The challenge to accept the truth and move on,

To a brighter future that you can build upon;

The faith to believe that you can be free,

From all the abuse that caused you to flee;

The understanding that recovery is hard,

But the end result will always be a reward;

The strength to take back control of your life,

And start to overcome the strife;

The courage to stand tall and face the world,

With your head held high and all flags unfurled;

The knowledge that you are more than your past,

And that the future is yours at last;

The courage to forgive and move on,

To a better place that you can call your own;

The faith that you can heal and grow,

With the love and support of those who know;

The ability to build a new life,

Where the pain of the past can no longer strife;

The wisdom to see that you can be free,

From all the emotional abuse you had to flee;

The understanding that recovery takes time,

But the journey is one that's so divine;

The courage to open your heart and to trust,

And to let go and be completely dust;

The strength to stand up and fight,

And to find the peace and joy that's bright;

The will to take back your life,

And to never again be in such strife;

The power to move on and forgive,

To be better prepared to truly live;

The understanding that recovery is hard,

But the end result will always be a reward.

When the night is dark and cloudy,

I'm reminded of a sweet release

From the pain that I have carried,

From the burden I have had to carry.

As I walk through the empty streets

I hear the echoes of my heart's beat

It's time to unburden my soul

From the chains that have bound it so.

For I have been through much abuse

And now my heart is filled with blues

But I will not be defined by that,

For I have much more to achieve.

I know that I will rise again

And I will not be kept in chains

The weight of my pain will be gone

And I will be stronger than before.

My strength will grow from the joy

That fills my life, and I will employ

The keys to my recovery, unlocking the door

To a life free from fear and sorrow.

The key of patience, to keep me on track

The key of courage, to lead me back

The key of acceptance, to face my fears

The key of understanding, to keep tears away.

The key of purpose, to channel my strength

The key of grace, to access my length

The key of faith, to keep me alive

The key of love, to restore my drive.

The key of mindfulness, to stay in the present

The key of resilience, to remain content

The key of clarity, to keep me on track

The key of vulnerability, to grant me back.

The key of compassion, to help me heal

The key of trust, to start to feel

The key of strength, to stand up strong

The key of joy, to carry me along.

These are the keys that will unlock my heart

And guide me through the darkness and the dark

From the pain and suffering of the past

To a new, brighter, happier life at last.

disorderdepressionbipolaranxietyaddiction
1

About the Creator

Som Dutt

I write about Psychology and Philosophy. I am the top writer in Psychology and Philosophy on Medium.com

https://somdutt777.medium.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Liviu Romanabout a year ago

    We are grateful that you took the time to share your story with all of us. A few of the points you made in your article struck a chord with me. You can count on me to be one of your devoted fans, and I can't wait to check out more of your writing in the years to come.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.