Psyche logo

Gratitude Writing Prompts

Three areas in my life I am grateful for.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 3 min read
7
Gratitude Writing Prompts
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

While I was training this week, I took three days off from writing. Because of that, I have chosen to catch up on my gratitude prompts by writing about three of them.

The safest space I've ever been in was ___________ Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

The first thing that came to mind was in my husband's arms is the safest space I've ever been in! Then as I started to think about that more I thought, I think it started with my mother and father, then husband number one and now three.

Has there been places I have felt safest in. Home has always felt safe. From childhood through my adult life. I know that isn't true for everyone. I am full of gratitude for all the safe spaces in my life!

I am most fulfilled when ____________________ Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

When I am with family whether biological or adopted family, I am most fulfilled. When I think of spending time in my birthday month with my children, I feel so fulfilled! It was a great idea to go on vacation with my children rather than having a 70th birthday bash.

For my 60th birthday bash, we paid for a comedian, we had many guests to feed and we rented a hall. We also had a kids' party which included games, prizes, and other kid-fun stuff. Like a pinata full of candy.

Because it wasn't an adult-only party, I wanted that included for the kids that would be there. Success! One child came up to me and said, "This is the funnest birthday party I have ever been to!"

On my trip with my children, they paid for the majority of my expenses. They had frequent flyer miles to pay for flights, and hotel points to pay for rooms. We paid for some touristy things and we had great food. Our time together included playing cards and catching up on life. That filled me up.

The plan after that time together is to do that again every year! We shall see, it may not be every year! I told them we could spend that time in our state too. So we shall see.

I so enjoy spending time with my siblings and my adopted sisters are so much fun. Because we are all busy means we don't get together as much as I would like. I do feel fulfilled when we get together and I feel good when we talk on video calling!

What is something you wish for your loved ones? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

My first thoughts were for them to be happy, joyous, and free. Free of substance abuse. This is what I have in recovery. Do they all need to be in recovery? Not. Would it hurt? No. Would it help? Probably. I think so.

Out of seven children, we are especially worried about one child, who is deeply involved in her addiction. I wish for recovery for her and for her children that are suffering.

My children grew up with parents who needed to be in recovery. My husband and his ex-wife both needed to be in recovery. My children's father died from his addiction, and the other three of us are in recovery. Two of our children are in recovery. Four do not appear to have a problem.

When we visit children, it is clear who has recovery. Way more positivity, laughter, and fun rather than negativity and gloom. Not everyone, but it is in the air.

We have grandchildren who have been dealing with needing recovery too. And if we live long enough we will see great-grandchildren needing recovery as well.

For me, my recovery has made a difference for my children and when they were children, I could insist or give them the choice of counseling or recovery. They would choose recovery support.

Now, my son just put a laughing face on the text when I invited him to go with us to a roundup when he was here visiting last. It is okay with me as our daughter is the age her father was when his addiction killed him, and our son is fast approaching the age their dad was when he died.

So yes, I wish for my loved ones to be happy, joyous, and free. I am most fulfilled spending time with my children, my siblings, and sister friends. And the safest space for me is in my husband's arms and in our home.

supportrecoveryfamilyaddiction
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham7 days ago

    One must just take one day at a time in whatever we do in this life. Good work.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    Thank you for sharing this, what a lovely idea.

  • Awww, this was so wholesome and heartwarming. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Very valuable. Comprehensive.

  • Thank you for sharing yourself and your thoughts with us

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.