Psyche logo

Finally Overcome Your Pain: The Healing Process of Emotional Abuse

The Path to Recovery: Moving on After Emotional Abuse

By Som DuttPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Finally Overcome Your Pain: The Healing Process of Emotional Abuse
Photo by Ankush Minda on Unsplash

My soul searching, my heart in need

My thoughts turning, must take heed

My courage weakened, my heart in a haze

The ugliness of emotional abuse, must bear

My spirit aching, my heart so frail

My eyes heavy, must prevail

My courage broken, my heart in despair

The brutality of emotional abuse, must bear

My courage failing, my heart so weak

My spirit broken, must seek

My strength waning, my heart in dread

The chaos of emotional abuse, must dread

My spirit trembling, my heart so confused

My will weakened, must be brave

My courage broken, my heart in turmoil

The cruelty of emotional abuse, must know

My faith diminished, my heart so drained

My spirit weak, must remain

My courage failing, my heart in dismay

The power of emotional abuse, must not sway

My spirit numb, my heart in shock

My courage gone, must be strong

My strength wavering, my heart in fear

The darkness of emotional abuse, must not fear

My courage fading, my heart so faint

My spirit faltering, must remain taint

My strength weakened, my heart in pain

The darkness of emotional abuse, must restrain

My faith lost, my heart so drained

My spirit tired, must remain

My courage broken, my heart in fear

The power of emotional abuse, must not fear

My spirit aching, my heart so frail

My courage failing, must prevail

My strength waning, my heart in dread

The chaos of emotional abuse, must dread

My courage shattered, my heart so weak

My spirit broken, must seek

My strength gone, my heart in dismay

The terror of emotional abuse, must not sway

My faith gone, my heart in pain

My courage absent, must remain

My strength wavering, my heart in fear

The darkness of emotional abuse, must endear

My spirit numb, my heart so drained

My courage gone, must be brave

My strength waning, my heart in despair

The violence of emotional abuse, must not bear

My courage shattered, my heart so faint

My spirit faltering, must remain saint

My strength weakened, my heart in pain

The darkness of emotional abuse, must sustain

Healing from the pain of emotional abuse

Takes time, effort and courage to face.

There's no easy solution, no absolute truth

But recognize the old patterns you must refute.

Don't settle for anything less than respect,

Focus on rebuilding your inner strength and self-esteem beject.

Crucial for survival is seeking comfort in the love others give.

Begin your journey towards healing and feel your heart re-live.

I reach out for the healing

From the pain of emotional abuse

It's hard to just take in

The fragmented parts of you and me

But I know that time will heal this wound

It takes strength to trust it will come through

When I feel overwhelmed with all these feelings anew

My inner spark helps me pass through.

Gently now, I am healing,

The pain is slowly subsiding

Holding onto hope along the way,  

My heart gently opens each day.

The emotional pain does not depart,

It lingers and leaves the heart so scarred

But healing can be done with deliberate art,

Though you may feel your wounds have barred.

You need to feel what is yours to feel,

Though it be strength, anger or tears on your sleeve.

Your hurt must be faced in order to heal,

So start now before hope begins to deplete.

Acknowledge the wrong that had been inflicted;

You'll build courage that will be constructed.

Be assertive as a new life you crafted;  

With peace of mind as empathy is resurrected.

depressioncopingartanxietyaddiction
1

About the Creator

Som Dutt

I write about Psychology and Philosophy. I am the top writer in Psychology and Philosophy on Medium.com

https://somdutt777.medium.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Liviu Romanabout a year ago

    I just wanted to express my appreciation for your story and the time you took to share it with us. Your words really resonated with me, and I'm excited to follow your writing and see what you have in store for us in the future.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.