Psyche logo

Day 22

The Right Kind of Tired

By burnafterdrinkingPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Day 22 (Pt. 1)

Today was a good day 😊

A few things that were awesome:

I woke at a normal time (6.30am) and had a fresh coffee, and not at 4am like some hungover zombie stumbling around, clawing at the darkness for a bottle of water.

I’ve lit my ginormous Martha Stewart candle every night since Day 1 and I’m sad to say it’s all burned out… and pleased as punch to say I’ve purchased another one! Birch wood and bougie parfums are becoming an essential item in my sobriety. Sniff sniff, yum yum.

I used my spare time very wisely, which is something I’ve always dreamed of doing. Drunk, I would muse about how I’d be model student who works their shifts and studies on their breaks and is so pure and smart and so getting into Princeton and getting kissed in the rain… (Hilary Duff, you know what I’m saying, right?)... Then I’d go to the shop, buy another bottle of wine and a few hours later, wake up in some random guy’s bed wondering how I’m gonna get home to smash that super productive day I was dreaming about.

Today, I studied on my shift breaks and free periods – I read two chapters of Learning to Counsel (where the beautiful Epictetus quote is used) and completed my readings and online collab. for uni.

I realised something glorious – I’ve been writing consistently for 22 days. Not just tapping notes and bits of stories into my Word doc. I’ve journaled, drafted, edited, and published 22 written entries since I began this journey. That’s more writing, more consideration, more progress than I’ve ever made in the last decade, and especially in the many years since I decided to take writing seriously and bookend it as the eventual dream job.

Each day, I feel like I am one step closer to my dream. #sundaytimesbestseller

Today I am the right kind of tired. 🙂

*

Day 22 (Pt. 2)

One crappy thing happened this week – it’s nothing catastrophic, but it warrants a huge thank you…

When I subscribed to I Am Sober, Google Play mistakenly charged me twice for the subscription and point blank refused to refund me despite a lot of evidence to the contrary. The app subscription price is very reasonable and obviously considers affordability and its target audience. Obviously, I still don’t want to pay twice - I have three jobs just to get by, I’ve got to exercise caution.

For what took Google Play two weeks, a lot of ‘not our policy’ jargon and a fuck-ton of my anxiety, @i_am_sober_app responded and refunded within 24 hours. They immediately understood what had happened and were happy to help me get back on track. So, thank you, @i_am_sober_app team!. The app has been a godsend and another essential to my journey.

And to @googleplay – the I Am Sober app is not a game. It’s not a puzzle or a codebreaker or some endless candy crush challenge.

I Am Sober is a sobriety tracker, which caters almost exclusively to an audience of recovering addicts and sober curious people who are trying to change/better their lives.

They’ve been through the ringer with anxiety, depression, countless let-downs, and fuck-overs. A major element of recovery is accountability. When we got drunk and fucked up, we couldn’t hide behind the fine print on the bottle of wine. And neither should you.

So, a word to the wise guys - be part of the solution not the problem.

coping
Like

About the Creator

burnafterdrinking

North-east based writer with interests in creative writing, psychology, trauma and recovery.

This my sobriety journal.

#SoberAF

Thanks for Reading,

:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.