Psyche logo

Cast Thy Rod Into The Deep

Defending Thy Soul

By christopher nashPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Cast thy rod into the deep and see what life comes forth,

Strike blow by blow and watch it flow, rivers that swell the north,

Take thou turn and watch it churn until the water subsides,

Pray for rain to quell, to abstain from further arising the tides,

Gamble long and gamble hard but do not walk the plank,

There are things you cannot see that have been lost and sank,

You struck and you hit, your anger and spit, flying as you swung,

The time that it took to create in you a brook that cast the rope you hung,

Tie a knot as in Salem’s Lot, Let thy wicked be bound,

Cast your nets upon thy threats and watch your problems drown,

Make amends for what you portend and try not for what you seek,

The water still rises and full of surprises, my ego becoming too weak,

Pride has challenged the world with his talents and left his mark on us all,

Dare need I say that while you were away, I captured your essence in a drawl,

Your mood so eluding, your presence so deluding, your grip has become my true vice,

If I should ever leave what is under my sleeve, then it’s you all who would pay the price,

I’ve gathered my things, my belongings and pangs, of which pain contracts from my fears,

Know now the hour that has all but turned sour and left me relenting tears,

Free from this shell that conjures up hell and draws my life to an end,

Hope does not float, who came up with that quote must be dead from creating such sin,

To beg and to plead whilst growing a need to change in how you think,

A force for good should be understood, you’re the reason they sunk and they sank,

I’ve taught thee well, I’ve cast my spell and waded in deep waters’ depth,

Trusting in time and showing a rhyme, no reasons to know what’s next,

Leaving my tomb in deep shallow womb, I see myself much clearer,

Try as you might, you can’t hold a light and make it anymore sincerer,

Sinking ships should halt their trips, taking in more of the same,

Their watered down logic that grows in man toxic and turns a man from his shame,

Hard at work to bring forth dirt from out the earth comes laughter,

Tickle the sickle while sifting through miracles and finding not what I’m after,

Standing firm unto all I am concerned the future could be in shambles,

The echoes I hear are from out in the clear of the night in the dark I have rambled,

Where am I that I should pry the heart of what I confess,

Leave me alone, my heart is of stone and my body has come to but rest,

Charge in me not what I should find but more or less what I can hold,

Take these in you and carry but a few, choices in what you’ve been told,

Hold unto me and prosper more to be a dream upon a dream,

Show unto me a light but can’t see the darkness of what you may be,

Travel light friend ‘cause here at the end of time itself is a lapse,

Time can’t go through it, how could you pursue it, in my mind there’s an escape, maybe, perhaps,

Take caution to the wind and the world that we’re in and crawl just under the hurt,

Kneel but to yourself and keep unto your health the cure that came out of dirt,

Rub it all in, take it like men, the vials of love you’ve deduced,

When you pull thy rod from the deep, at last your darkness reduced.

disordertraumahumanitycopingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.