Psyche logo

Black Woman in Atlanta Called 'Darky' On Food Receipt Ghanians Black Africans Use The Same & Worse in Africa

When you complain in Ghana they say leave my country, when you complain in America they say "Go Back To Africa!"

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Collage Created by the Author

Monday, 26 June 2023

By: TB Obwoge

In case you don’t read what I write Ghanians call their darker skinned citizens & family members, “darkie” & “Blackie” I have met Ghanian men & women who HATE this term but they say why say anything they won’t stop.

Ghana is listed very high on skin bleaching, no in 2016–17 it was made illegal, that is a lie. Products are still found, however they could fix this by punishing people for using this terminology.

I follow a man who uses the name, @ TizzyEnt on TikTok, a deep voiced white, American man.

He’s always calling out racism, sexists and homophobes. His followers have helped people locate racists, they behave badly in public, then usually flee the area.

He does follow-up videos when the people are located. There was a Black woman, visually upset, she tells how someone recommended this place to her named Woody’s 2 LLC at 45 Irby Avenue NW, in Atlanta, Georgia. She apparently loves vegan food.

She places her order but then notices how the man working at Woody’s spelled her name as “Darkie”

Screnshot from TikTok

When the woman noticed that they had written "darky" she asked could she have a refund for her order which she hadn't yet received. The person replied telling her that they didn't give refunds, even after writing the racial slur on her receipt.

She took her order and left, she recorded the video from her. In the video her voice cracks and she almost cries, while telling her story. She was clearly upset.

She went onto say how she was tied of racism in America, something I'm sure most Black people in America say at one point in their lives.

Many like myself moved to Africa because of this, Kenya first then Ghana. Kenyans called me mzungu, which means white person. They however didn't scream it at me while pointing as I walked around the country.

In Ghana they did, it was constant, immigration & police stopping cars I was riding in, some times they would ask for money. If I was in an Uber they would stop me but them let me go when they saw it was on my time.

Screenshot from TikTok Video

I too am sick of racism, stupidly I thought Ghana would be different, I am so angry and it’s sad how even in the expat group people tell you to learn to ignore everything. Well you can’t ignore when people think you’re white and want to hurt you. I never left my house without a pocket knife and pepper spray, yes I pulled it out a few times, never used it.

I felt unsafe because my light skin was always a subject when I was out in the streets.

It’s almost hilarious, yet it’s not at all, especially for a person that thought they were moving to Ghana to get away from the race issues of America. The odd thing about this is in Ghana this woman in the photos would be considered white by most of the people she would encounter.

collage created by the author

Below is a link to the full video so you can hear her experience, sadly she probably won't get much assistance or justice. This is how things are in the US, sadly this is also how things are in Ghana. Bothered for my skin color, sexually assaulted, home robbed while I was getting cancer treatment.

In Ghana it's almost like Black Americans are nothing, our lives don't matter, when you say how you're treated they tell you to get out of their country. Because of course Black Americans have money to throw away, we can move from country to country we are all millionaires.

We can throw away our plans but Africans they can't they're the most important humans in earth and don't you ever complain about how you're treated in their perfect countries.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey's House efforts in Gender Equality & Children's Rights.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

social mediatraumaanxiety
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.