Psyche logo

Am I Too Happy?

Thoughts on Maintaining My Mental Health

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
15
Happy is the Way To Be

I am writing this because I have found the Psyche community on Vocal and though I have written many pieces dealing with Mental Health they have ended up in Journal or Humans. I usually feel I have no right to post in communities because I have not been (and don’t expect to be) diagnosed with any mental health conditions.

I included "Happy" by The Carpenters because it was a favourite of my mums and a favourite of mine too.

Am I Too Happy?

It’s a question I sometimes ask myself. I have friends who have problems and am there to hold their hand, chat with them and hopefully help them . Sometimes they come back to me and we seem to help them get into a position where they can deal with whatever problems that they have.

I was brought up to be a responsible one and to deal with whatever comes at me, and often when I needed help it just was not forthcoming.

I sort of pride myself that whenever things are dark for me I can find some spark of positivity that can pull me back into the light , and it always works, but that is not an option for everyone.Some people cannot find that light.

In the last twenty years I have received several pieces of bad news about my physical well being. Each time I have sat with the consultant and identified that I can deal with the situation. Friends have expressed dismay but I assure them things will be alright because I trust my medical support.

The reality is that when I have been told these things and the consultants say they are really sorry I tell them “don’t be sorry, if you hadn’t found this out and told me, we couldn’t do anything about it.” I then point out that I have seen people missing links, blind , suffering from serious mental issues , while I can get up, walk out and speak with friends.

I do have a lot of close supportive friends who I can talk to , and my workplace has weekly meetings to discuss any issues that I and others might have and that is a huge beneficial tool to keep my mental health in a good place.

I walk which helps me think , have time alone when I need it , time with others too. There have been times when I am really down , thinking no one wants to speak with me or have anything to do with me but that is just what I call my bad demons.

I always look for a positive in whatever happens. A simple example is missing the bus. Usually the next stop or two may be a ten minute walk , so I take that walk , burn off a little fat and benefit physically for what some would see as a problem.

In work sometimes things just don’t work when they should do and there are deadlines to be met. I am usually lucky enough to work out an alternative arrangement , and document that for future reference , although many people wait until the problem is resolved. I take it as an opportunity to learn.

So Am I Too Happy? I would say you can never be too happy. It puts you in a position where you can be there for others. I know for me it means I can’t ask others for help at times , but I get lots from just chatting to other people. I also know that I am greatly loved and that really lifts my spirits, the people who love me are always with me in spirit and if I feel down I think of them.

Another small token that helps me is Matt Haig’s “Reasons To Stay Alive” , an amazing reference book for anyone tackling their own mental health problems. I would recommend you get a copy whether you suffer from any kind of mental health related issues or not. I reference it heavily in this piece here.

Andy's Man Club is here if you need to talk

The Samaritans are here

selfcare
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Mental health is so complicated, but being there for friends always helps. 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.