Poets logo

You already know

—-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
7
You already know
Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

you already know

How i broke down

Like a leaking well

And collapsed all my stone like besotted clay that cannot keep its shape.

You already know that I tried to rebuild us as I had less to grab from my soil than even you claimed

I was wretched and at your mercy

But you had no mercy for me

You must already know I am numb now

From so much

Past tyranny

But you gave me hope that you knew was false

You were

Ready to toss me aside

You already knew I was to break

As your hands held the key to see my weak points

Tip tapping the cracks to let me fall

“I'll be the bad guy”
Is not a good answer at all.

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Brilliantly written Melissa. The use of text at the bottom was a great impactful addition!

  • Especially when it's true, but said as though it is not. (The movie "The Ref" comes to mind.)

  • People who give us false hope are the worst! Your poem was so heartbreaking!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Not it's not a good answer. It's a selfish, terrible answer. Great job in bringing out such raw emotion in this. Excellent piece.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    You have a real gift for expressing sadness. That makes me hope it doesn't all come from experience. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    This is as stunning as it is sad. I love how you often just tackle the most horrible experiences...in a beautiful way. Well done, Melissa!

  • Andrew C McDonald7 months ago

    Toxic relationships are a terrible thing to endure. Too many hinge their own happiness on others, trying to keep another happy or satisfied at their own expense. This is a very nicely done poetic tale. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.