Poets logo

At the Far Corner of the Bar

you stand without me

By T. LichtPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
5

You’re at the corner of the bar,

Holding the same tulip-shaped glass of whiskey

With the crutch of your hand,

Swirling it in smooth circular movements I always tried but failed to imitate.

You only drink whiskey.

You only drink whiskey in a tulip shaped glass.

You’re always at the corner of the bar- far corner of the bar.

But always with me.

This time you’re by yourself.

I know that look you're wearing,

Indifferent, detached

As if you really aren’t there.

But I know what that means.

I know you.

I know why you like whiskey

And why you drink it out of a tulip-shaped glass.

I know why you always stand in the corner of the bar- the far corner of the bar

And why you now look indifferent.

The only thing I don’t know.

Is why you stand there without me this time.

Free Verse
5

About the Creator

T. Licht

I have a love for words and a love to share them.

Well then, enjoy and thank you for taking the time to read this and maybe if you want subscribe;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani12 days ago

    Oh, brilliant poem.

  • Fantastic! Well written! Loved this! Great work!

  • Yeah.. Thank you for commenting.

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Yikes. Well maybe good riddance. Loved your poem and how it is laid out.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.