Poets logo

Yo, Girl!

A lil' fun with Ol' Bill Ess

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
23
Yo, Girl!
Photo by Chase Fade on Unsplash

Ok, let me get this part out of the way. These words are original. They're a translation of a reasonably well-known poem, though. When Vocal threw up a challenge to write a love poem with words of four letters or less, I got to thinking. "What would good ol' Bill Shakespeare do with that? What if Sonnet 18 was translated for a rapper?" (I've come to appreciate rappers as poets.) That should be enough to explain the abomination written here. I make no apologies, except perhaps to the late master, himself. No slurs of any kind are intended.

Because I don't know too many people who know this poem by heart, I printed both versions: William's in regular print and mine in bold.

I also embedded a nice, easy free beat, for those of you who want a little background for your reading. (I do not own the rights to the video and the beat is available for purchase if you follow the YT link.) Let it get rolling before you start reading.

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?

Yo, girl, I'm down with June and all, but you?

Thou art more lovely and more temperate.

You be more fine and hawt - but not too much.

Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,

That wind can BLOW in June, girl, don't you know,

And summer’s lease hath all too short a date.

And them fine days ain't many, babe. You feel me?

Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,

Them rays can get too hot down here, too, yo?

And often is his gold complexion dimmed;

But they can be too dim on some days, too.

And every fair from fair sometime declines,

And hey, the chic don't last long ev'ry time,

By chance, or nature’s changing course, untrimmed;

Just cuz, or shit gets real with Mama Nate'

But thy eternal summer shall not fade,

But girl, your fire ain't goin' out, no way,

Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,

No repo man gon' come for what you owe,

Nor shall death brag thou wand'rest in his shade,

What you got ain't dyin', babe, no way,

When in eternal lines to Time thou grow'st.

When you go down on the page like this,

 So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,

Long as bros can huff and puff and all,

So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Girl, your fine self goes on, yeah - cuz I writ this.

***

If you've made it this far, thanks, and I hope you had a little fun with this.

Thanks for reading!

vintagelove poems
23

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Well didn't this just tickle me 🤣

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Omg this is hilarious 😂 I could see this as SNL skit too, "Shakes In The House" Thanks for laugh. Well done 😂

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    I don't think I ever thought Shakespearean words would be translated like this 😂 that was great Dana 😁 it did help me understand the original words (I would've had to translate them anyways hahaha)

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I see what you did with this. This was so fun and very creative 💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽🥳🥳🥳🥳💕

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Entertaining and fun!!! Dana, this was super!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Omg omg omgggg! I absolutely loveeeee what you did here with Shakespeare's poem! This was so creative and brilliant!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    OMG, that was dope! And by the way, I don't think Bill would have minded. Wasn't he THE rapper of his time? ;-)

  • Yo, bro, that was flo! (Is that a thing?)

  • Yo vocal raps 😎 Great work Dana

  • Great job on this one, This is Tight🎤

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    This is good. It's funny! It's made me smile tonight. I put on the background sounds, too and it worked. I wonder what Bill would make of this; I bet he'd love it.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Brilliant work Dana! Now I need to hear you rapping this!😁 The background beat was dope too! Who is your favorite rapper by the way?

  • Thou hast not even seen the ways thou hast cast the flow of joy from mine eyes. 👏👏👏 far more wit than I can say

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    How creative!! 🤯🤯

  • Teresa Renton10 months ago

    Creativity at its best! Brilliant job! I loved this so much 😍

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Omg. That is funny. Great job!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love this way too much. 🥰 I went through this phase my freshman year of high school where I was a huge fan of Shakespeare. That was in the late 90’s, when hip hop was actually good. And when that Romeo & Juliet movie came out, which featured the original antiquated dialogue but set in modern times. So this brings back many memories. Also, it’s hilarious.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    How about ‘writ’ in the last line to keep it to four letters?

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Lol. Love the translation! Do you feel me, yo? Makes me wonder what doing the opposite would be like. Great job, Dana. You might have just created a new profession, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.