Poets logo

Ode to Canned Creamed Corn

For Donna and Paul

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
28
Ode to Canned Creamed Corn
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

What perverse, sadistic bastard

Woke up with his head on backward

And decided to pronounce you table fare?

Was he cleaning the disposal,

Saying, “Yum! It's so mucosal

And just look at all those mushy bits in there?”

*

I sincerely hate to lecture,

But the sad truth is, your texture

Is like something from a tissue in the trash,

And pray tell me, where's the flavor

That my taste buds love to savor

Of those crunchy nuggets someone had to smash?

*

Where's your cob? You've left it barren!

If you're on my plate, I'm swearin'!

(As if you could even stoop to stay in place.)

You're a horrible creation,

An evil abomination

And I'm not about to stick you in my face.

*

Please, begone, you slimy outrage

Made of yellow chunks and mucilage!

Go back to the sink you came from underneath!

If I must be forced to ingest

Corn that I don't have to digest,

I would rather wait until I have no teeth!

***

So, two great creators, Paul Stewart and Donna Renee came up with a personal challenge: Write a poem, story, letter, etc. for a food you hate. Then they told me I could play, and anyone else who wants to.

(As you may be able to tell, creamed corn in a can is not one of my favorite things.)

*** Wanna' take a shot at it? Just write a poem or story, or letter, etc. to a food you hate. PLEASE, LEAVE A LINK TO YOUR STORY IN THE COMMENTS BELOW. BETTER STILL, LEAVE IT IN THE COMMENTS ON DONNA'S STORY, LINKED BELOW. THIS IS GOING TO BE A HISTORICAL, HYSTERICAL SERIES AND YOU DON'T WANT TO BE LEFT OUT!

Here are the stories from the instigators:

Donna's, for love (not) of marshmallows:

Paul's, written for almond milk:

humor
28

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Well said. :D

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Hahahaha!!! 😂 gagging!!!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    LOL!!! Corn, that's a no way!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Now this one I totally agree with. Why would anyone do that to corn. Give me the cob, don't mess with my corn.

  • Oh wowww. I can see that you despise creamed corn much hahahaha. I've not had creamed corn before but I don't like anything mushy so I guess we're on the same team, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Stellar work Dana! So entertaining! 😁

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    I must admit, it's not my favorite. I'm talking about cream corn, not your story. I may toss my hat into the ring with a story about my nemeses, fish! well done!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    🤣 the beginning of this one is my favorite! These are fun!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I love this...and I am tempted...(squash, you've been warned)!

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    omg, that's HILARIOUS! And here I thought I was the only one turned OFF by this unsightly mess they try to pass off as food. Thank you for the smile of the day.

  • Excellent!!!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Bravo! 👏🏼 Creamed corn is disgusting, good choice there. For those who haven’t been subjected to it, you perfectly described why they should pray they never are. I like the image you chose and the use of “abomination” too!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    'Sup D-Bud ~ You got me Giggling in Big-Chunks - As you 'Smash' away from the 'Art-Buffs' this time ~ J-Bud

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    😂😂😂 and 👏👏👏 and 🤢🤢🤮. I’d rather eat baby food or even rocks, than an ancient can of swirling mucous! Well done! Loved it!

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    I've never tried this, neither did I even know it existed... But I can honestly say that with this poem, you have succeeded in creating an invible force field that will come up automatically if I ever see creamed corn.

  • What a hoot. I about gagged at some of your descriptions...well done

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Omg I’m still laughing 🤣🤣🤣. It really is one of the absolute WORST textured foods imaginable!! Also, I picture this for some reason as the King in Hamilton singing it onstage in rage to the audience 🤣🤣🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Haha. This is great. And yuck!

  • Well done, Dana, and I am on board with your sentiments. I bet the top donated cans at food pantries are creamed corn and split pea soup. Blech! 🤮

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Very funny and clever ! 😂 “Go back to the sink you came from underneath” made me laugh!

  • Test10 months ago

    Hahahaha, this is so good, Dana.! The Corn Kid would agree with you... it's gotta be on the cob with butter and salt, or not at all, thank you very much.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh this was so good. Like professionally good. Like poetic af good. I tip my hat to you and love the fact that you stuck with the mucous-theme throughout. I've never had canned cream corn but it always gave me the feeling it would have that kind of texture. Well played, sir, well played!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.