Poets logo

Winter in England

*

By Christy MunsonPublished about a month ago 1 min read
5
Winter in England
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

Lingering touches

brushing against my soft skin

and the scent of you still

pooling inside me

tingling like a phantom limb

_____

I am restless, aching for you

unable to sleep the night through

_____

You’ve returned home

to my South Africa

leaving me

a vivid memory

of winter’s escapades

in the library and

giving me Eve

who

in her darling bassinet

sleeps

dreaming

of castles

and kingdoms,

of noble knights

and

ladies

in waiting

_____

Copyright © 04/24/1998 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    The title of this worried me for a second. I was like - oh no, please don't let this be about rain or cold rain or just wet, miserable, cold rain! .... Fortunately, this was stunning. Just stunning. Well done Christy. You're on fire right now.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    There's such an atmosphere of quiet sadness here, so well evoked.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    I am never sure how I feel about love poetry...but...this was gorgeous. Like...really. You just keep firing out perfection! Love the precise details mixed with the poetic phrasing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.