Poets logo

Who cares Anymore?

My deepest Fear World Without A Care

By Mariann CarrollPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read

Who cares what’s happening around the world?

What happen to compassion?

Where is compassion in the world?

Where is the Love?

Will we find Compassion

Cry the Dove

I say make way

Let reign passion

Flood the gate with milky way

Who knew what the Christmas Day hold

The birth of Jesus’ Passion

To behold

Santa don’t lost your hope

Elf keep on working for free

Santa you are children’s hope

Reindeer

Santa want a ride for free

Never stop being a Dear

( My first try at a Villanelle poetry, I hope I did it right?) What do you think? Thanks for stopping by to read it)

Thank you Pastor Randy for helping me correct this poem to the right format form.💕📣I love all my Vocal friends ….I am sure learning every day!

Who cares what’s happening around the world?

What happen to compassion?

Where is compassion in the world?

++++++++

Where is the Love in the world

Will we find Compassion.

I say make way Let reign passion

++++++++

Where is compassion in the world?

Who knew what the Christmas Day hold

The birth of Jesus’ Passion

++++++++

Where is compassion in the world?

Santa don’t lost your hope Elf keep on working for free assion

Who cares what’s happening around the world?

++++++++

Who cares what’s happening around the world?

Santa you are children’s hope Reindeer

Who cares what’s happening around the world?

Where is compassion in the world?

Holidaychildrens poetryart

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear Mariann ~ Pray for 'World Peace' ~ Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Staringale6 months ago

    This poem seems to be an emotional cry for compassion and love in the world, using the form of a Villanelle, which it accomplishes well. The repeated lines "Where is compassion in the world?" and "What happen to compassion?" effectively reinforce the theme throughout the poem. The references to Christmas and its significance, as well as the imagery of Santa, reindeer, and the birth of Jesus, add a spiritual and universal dimension to the plea for compassion.

  • Ali SP6 months ago

    I love that your poem speaks about compassion, something that is essential especially throughout the holidays. I had my first try at the villanelle too, so kudos to you for coming up with this piece! I adored the photo that you have attached.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    More compassion for others and also self are deeply needed. 👏👏 I have honestly not looked into the challenge yet ..all I know is Mike writes a lot of these! I will have to check out the structure! Anyhow great message in your poem Mariann, and I hope you have been travelling well. 😊👍 Trying to get back into vocal as I haven’t been on much this week. Well done and have a great day!

  • I'm so happy you wrote a poem based on that picture. I hope you don't get me wrong though, I'm only saying this because you asked. That isn't the correct format for a villanelle. Mike has written on how to write a villanelle. I'll leave the link in the comment below. I hope I've not hurt you or offended you. But if I did, then I'm so sorry 🥺❤️🙏🏼

  • Deasun T. Smyth6 months ago

    Nice, love the comic at top! 😉😊👍🍁.

  • Love the poem (I say the easiest way for you to see compassion in this world is simply to look in a mirror for you truly do exemplify the word). Though according to the link they supplied for us within the challenge indicates that the villanelle originally had no set form, I do believe they intend for us to use the strict form that has been in place for the past several centuries: A1 b A2 / a b A1 / a b A2 / a b A1 / a b A2 / a b A1 A2. Your first line should also be your 6th, 12th & 18th line ("Who cares what’s happening around the world?"). Your third line should also be your 9th, 15th & 19th line ("Where is compassion in the world?"). Simply substituting those lines with your 1st & 3rd, for example, would produce the following villanelle: Who cares what’s happening around the world? What happen to compassion? Where is compassion in the world? Where is the Love? Will we find Comp I say make way Let reign passion Where is compassion in the world? Who knew what the Christmas Day hold The birth of Jesus’ Passion Where is compassion in the world? Santa don’t lost your hope Elf keep on working for free assion Who cares what’s happening around the world?Who cares what’s happening around the world? Santa you are children’s hope Reindeer Who cares what’s happening around the world? Where is compassion in the world? I hope this helps. (Though if Mike Singleton disagrees with me, take his word for it. It's one of his favorite poetic forms.)

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Nice job! I ABSOLUTELY loved the message!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Loved it!!! ❤️❤️💕 My first Villanelle isn't correct but it is my interpretation of the format!!

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    I enjoyed your villanelle. 💖 In the challenge description. It has a link that describes a villanelle. I always look at someone else's at challenge time to see if I am doing the poetry type correctly. There are so many types. It is easy to get confused.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    I like it <3

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.