Poets logo

whiskey smooth

#smoothchallenge

By Heather HublerPublished 5 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
28
Created with CanvaPro

whiskey dances upon

my cherry red lips,

plied apart and heavy

begging for that

soothing burn

to numb the pain,

liquor laced with

the poisoned remains

of lovers and old regret.

velvety amber slips

down my parched throat

in one clean swallow,

a rush of warmth

offered to a pinched stomach

starved for tenderness

and touch.

/

his phantom hands sift

through my tresses

tugging on a waterfall of silky black,

exposing the curve of my neck,

smooth, alabaster skin

laid bare

meant to entice

and ensnare.

an ember swiftly fans to inferno,

as anticipation builds

and crests

pushing us over the edge

with prayers

and pleas

and breathy m o a n s,

drowning us

in raw pleasure,

flesh moving on flesh

in a rhythm as old as rhyme.

his words whisper

over my slick skin,

don't go

but this is my goodbye.

/

another smooth swallow,

another burn

before the memories

begin to fade

and mellow

anesthetized by a swirl

of barley and rye

as i slip to

the bottom of the bottle

where blessed oblivion calls,

and i can escape

his haunting,

if only for awhile.

heartbreaksad poetryperformance poetry
28

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • JAY PATEL4 months ago

    https://vocal.media/journal/two-suspects-wanted-in-shooting-death-of-off-duty-greensboro-police-officer-at-gas-station

  • Gina C.4 months ago

    This is amazing, my dear friend! Tantiliazing, descriptive magic - I felt I could touch the sensations here

  • randy Davidson 5 months ago

    Hello friendly, lovely, story, writer, I would like to be friends with you I love them all, and I'll share your story Do you mind us be friends??

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Oh man this was too good, Heather! The imagery is so good I can taste the whisky and feel the burn. I especially love the line, โ€˜liquor laced with the poisoned remains of lovers and old regret.โ€™ That one stuck with me, great job!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Fabulous work! That was ๐Ÿ”ฅ! BRAVO!๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Another wow! If only whiskey could be that smooth!๐Ÿ˜‰

  • You wove the two elements together so well. Bitter swallows and slick skin. Fantastic job Heather!

  • Philip Gipson5 months ago

    I love the way this poem came out. It was very entertaining.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Ok...is it hot in here or something? What the hell...and funny we had the same idea...but yours is way more filthy! lol! anyway, this was kinda great, really great, Heather! Fine work and great entry. You went hard with this one, woman!

  • More excellent lines from your pen and another Top Story I am sure

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    'h' ~ Burn Bottoms-Up - Yum - 'j'

  • Lindsey Altom5 months ago

    Bravo! Very enticing...

  • L.C. Schรคfer5 months ago

    That is the sexiest poem about whiskey I've ever put in my eyes.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ so dramatic!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    So melancholic, so we'll done.

  • This was so heartbreaking. Hot and steamy yet still so sad. Loved your poem so much my fear friend!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Very effective Heather. Excellent job and havenโ€™t read any that cover this object/issue.. โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ‘

  • It's hard to imagine you have ever experienced such absence & emptiness. But you express it so poignantly & viscerally, I feel the depth of this ache.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I felt like I was invading a private moment, but kept reading anyway. The ending was sad, and so full of emotions.

  • Test5 months ago

    well written

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Smooth, sexy, senuous and at the same time, sad. A brilliant mess of emotion drowning in amber. Excellent work, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.