Poets logo

I Love You, But

I have to let you go...

By Will Shimnom SimonPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
2
I Love You, But
Photo by Christopher Alvarenga on Unsplash

My heart whispers secrets, of the love we used to know
Echoes of memories, that only we could hold
But like autumn leaves, our love has faded gold
And I'm left with the ache, of a love that's grown old

Your eyes, once bright stars, that shone just for me
Now dimly flicker, like embers of a memory
Our love, a symphony, that's lost its harmony
And I'm forced to confront, the melody

I love you, but I have to let you go
Like a river flowing, to a distant sea
Our love has reached its shore, and I must set you free
Though it tears my soul, to bid you farewell, you see

In dreams, I'll hold you close, and cherish what we had
But in waking life, our love has made its sad
Farewell, dear love, may your journey be kind
And though we part, know that you'll forever be on my mind.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Will Shimnom Simon

Always the poet... Never the poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani15 days ago

    Oh man, this was sad, and yet somehow very beautifully written. I hope you're okay!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.