Poets logo

When I miss you

/when I remember you

By Kay HusnickPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
When I miss you
Photo by Austin Neill on Unsplash

When I miss you, I miss my best friend, the person I could sing with in the car on afternoon drives to nowhere in particular,

the way you knew everything about me and loved me anyway, even if it was just for a little while,

but when I remember you, I remember how I could feel you slowly liking me less and less over time.

As I continued to grow, you longed to regress to who you were before

until the novelty wore off and the resentment you refused to acknowledge built up so high that we couldn't ignore it anymore.

sad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    That's so lovely!🥰

  • Sadly, so often the case. I remember some of my best friends in early grade school became the cool kids I never was by junior & senior high school.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.