Poets logo

Red flags

Like gradually boiling water

By Kay HusnickPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
31
Red flags
Photo by Zachary Keimig on Unsplash

Deep down, I think I like the red flags, the familiarity of them.

All the warning signs feel like excitement at first,

muffling the little voice in the back of my head, the one who asks questions, thinks things through, the one who knows better.

Why not rush into things that feel so good?

The water is fine, keeping me warm, shouldn't I stay a while?

No, I don't mind it much that I'm sweating now.

It's too cold outside to get out; I'd freeze.

Everything will cool back down to being comfortable

I rationalize it as you boil me alive.

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
31

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Oh wow, this is incredible! That last line!!

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story.

  • Test5 months ago

    Sorry was late to this one! First congratulations on Top Story -This is just brilliant. There is a balance to be found somewhere...I hope 🤍

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    Predictably can be both a comfort and a curse. Just like risk taking can become addictive. Loved your poem. I agree with it

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    Oh man you are so good!! This was excellent 🔥🔥🔥💔💕💕❤️😆💕💘

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    Chillingly familiar. Excellent evocative piece!

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Wonderful piece and very relatable, congrats on a deserved top story

  • tarun bhatt5 months ago

    I rationalize it as you boil me alive. deep

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is incredible. That ending was jaw dropping!!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Yep. Damn the red flags! Full speed ahead! Congratulations!

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    This is so relatable! Very deserving of top story!

  • TheSpinstress5 months ago

    Wow, this is just exactly the poem I needed to read today - I wish I wasn't a grand master at ignoring red flags. XD Well done on your well-deserved top story!

  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    Oh wow Yeah. This one... this one hits home. At this point in my life, I'm half-way convinced that just liking me is a red flag lol but they are definitely eye-catching things. Probably why we're so drawn to them? red is the colour of action and change, after all. Plus, Red cars go fast

  • This was just wayyyyy too relatable! Also, my favourite colour is red, so yea, that's that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.