Poets logo

we could be…

falling in love in a Québec coffee shop

By Chloë J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
6
we could be…
Photo by Tim Geenens on Unsplash

I.

wine-sweet kisses on a snowed in night,

letting winter linger in ice-sugar

snowdrifts, up against the door. let’s play

hooky with the rest of the city.

II.

poetry by the fire; I’ll read

aloud, but only if you play with my hair.

we can take it in turns to take the dog out;

I’ll lock the door if you get the lights.

III.

the wind whispering on the St. Lawrence,

promising spring but demanding

respect for the beauty of the cold.

open your arms for me, darling.

IV.

long-time lovers with a lasting spark,

refusing to allow familiarity

to steal the voltage we exchange

in our tender violent passions.

love poems
6

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    This is so sweet, Chloe. Bursting with imagery and sentimentality. I love it.

  • Lyrically sweet. I take it familiarity does not always breed contempt.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    What an incredibly sweet and masterful poem!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Hey, just want to let you know I shared this poem in my recent story: https://vocal.media/journal/poppy-s-preferences-pt4

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Wow, this is so captivatingly sweet and well written. I really enjoyed it

  • Test12 months ago

    This is really beautiful 🖤

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    I am so glad I scrolled back back and found this this, wow wow wow! So many brilliant lines "promising spring but demanding respect for the beauty of the cold."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.