Journal logo

Poppy's Preferences Pt4

Underrated Discoveries: Showcasing less-read stories in the poets community

By Poppy Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
12
Poppy's Preferences Pt4
Photo by Adam Przeniewski on Unsplash

Welcome back to Poppy's Preferences :)

If you're new here, let me introduce you to the purpose of this series.

Poppy's Preferences shares some stories published in the Poets community that I really enjoyed. Most of these don't have many reads but I usually can't help mention a couple that already have some reads/comments but deserve way more.

The previous stories in this series only shared recently published poems, however, for this one and possibly future ones, I've decided to include poems published at any time, no matter how new or old.

Please check out the poems and creators; both are linked.

❀❀❀❀❀

We Could Be... by Chloë J.

It was difficult to choose just one of Choe's poems but eventually I settled on this one. I love the subtitle and the structure, as well as all four stanzas. She sets the scene amazingly, emitting a cozy, warm feeling and making me feel like I'm living in the poem. I think the opening sentence might be my favourite though.

wine-sweet kisses on a snowed in night,

letting winter linger in ice-sugar

snowdrifts, up against the door.

Little White Lies; Burning Memories of You One Day at a Time by ROCK

This poem has so much feeling and the repetition works perfectly to highlight this. I love how anger and healing entertwine throughout as it shows the journey of acknowledging toxicity and also moving past it.

Scars written in blue ink

Signed with red wine

Blue is the Warmest Colour by Ashley Tong

I love the title of this poem and the author's word choices. It's quite short and yet packed full of talent, including an appreciation for nature and home that most of us can relate to.

Do you feel kissed by the sun

Basked under like second to none

Or is it just me innocuously

Riding waves on the undulating sea

Suffer into Truth by Jazzy Gonçalves

This poem about feeling lost emenates extreme emotion in every line. It's impossible not to feel the desperation in every word and it makes for a very beautiful poem. The sweet ending really ties the poem together perfectly.

My favourite lines might have to be:

I know when I need it most

The world will never be enough for me

Sometimes I can barely breathe

Late Night Words of Another by NJ Reed

This unique prose encaptures what it is to fall in love with words and books. It's very relatable and written in a succinct way that leaves the reader wanting more (in a good way). I really loved the last stanza but I'll let you read it for yourself.

How each night I fall in love with ghosts of page and screen as I desperately cling to the notion that all is well.

❀❀❀❀❀

And lastly, one that already has a few likes and comments but deserves a lot more.

Beneath a Sea of Stars by Jordan Twiss

This is a sweet haiku of beautiful imagery that explains an obviously significant moment in just three lines. Not only that but the last line implies so much in just five words.

Two hearts share one wish

❀❀❀❀❀

One of Mine

This is one of my older poems that is an excerpt from my self-published poetry book 'Wasted Love' which you can purchase here in paperback or ebook format.

It's a love poem about a friend turning into a romantic interest before turning into a memory; told through months of the year.

It would mean a lot to me if you gave it a read.

❀❀❀❀❀

The Rest of the Series

Thanks for reading :)

featurelist
12

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    Awesome, Poppy. You've highlighted some wonderful poets here and now I have some new creators to subscribe to. Thank you! I loved April's Pain, by the way—one of your best. x

  • Oooo, so many people that I don't know! Thank you so much for introducing them and their poetry to us!

  • Great selection, Poppy, none of which I'd previously read.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    By the way, your poem is superb!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your favorite poems. I have reading to do. :-)

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing! I am honored you liked my poem so much!!! 😭

  • Thank you for sharing these, some good choices

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Just commenting to show my support for this awesome series. Not read any yet, but know it will be a good one, because I trust your judgment and taste! Some people I already subscribe to here but a few I don't - so I'm excited to read through them later!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.