Journal logo

Fleeting Moments

What a matter of 60 seconds could mean

By Rilee AreyPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
1

A day is consistant of 24 hours, 1,440 minutes and 86,400 seconds. Half of that we spend sleeping, if we're lucky, most us of remain unlucky by the relinquishing pressures of life that consists of in those remaining hours.

As a productive human kind, we like to focus on how much productivity we can squeeze from the day. How many things can be checked off a list that continues to grow every minute we are breathing. We tend to look at the time wasted, or the time we never have as we plead the excuse to "give us a minute".

sixty seconds, never feels enough time in the grands scheme of things, almost as if nothing can change in the matter of those fleeting moments. But thats just it, anything can change in sixty seconds and when that happens, I would have done anything to hold on to each one of those passing seconds.

I remember my childhood laughter filled with bright lights and the backyard baseball games. Everyone would join in as my father cooked up burgers for us. The t-ball sized bat colliding with the five layer tape ball we wrapped ealier that day. Grown men and grandmas running the bases as if they were a children again, free from the pressures and continuous lapsing of time and responsibility. I go back to those days often in my mind, those moments where it was as if there was no place else to be, the minutes and hours that passed and the moment and memories that lasted.

But now I am older, my body is frequently accosted by the effects of time as I've become my most capable while I am losing those who were always sitting across the table from me. Time, almost feels like an unfair game to play, I learn, I loved and most of all we all lose, at some point.

Give me a second, Ill be home soon, wait for me, just a moment, hold on, maybe later, I cant right now.... I wish I could go back.

All of these are excuses for why we cant appreciate the sixty seconds that is given to those in front of us. Because next thing you notice, it wasn't just a minute, it was five years with three visits and a lifetime of never seeing them again.

It was the last hand of cards I will ever play across from the person who taught me to. The last opportunity to show up at their house where they have fresh hot cookies coming out of the oven. It was the last time I got to see her alive.

A second can be a defining and fleeting moment, and its so easy to take everything else so seriously and not take advantage of the moments that make up the sixty secinds of memories we replay in our minds when it's all we have left.

I know I am of guilty of this, I know we all are.

I wish I could hold onto the every sixty second memory that crosses my mind about her, open my head like a collective box of those memories to keep her alive within the living. I wish I had those moments again, that I could have appreciated the value of them even more than I do now that I dont have her.

The confusion that follows the loss in those seconds feels like the longest minutes in each day. Because it true, sixty seconds isnt a long time, but it could be the difference of someone being in your life to not.

So with that being said, I choose to feel those fleeting seconds, when the wind that blows through the trees or when I see the sun glowing between the blue skys and puffy white clouds. I embody her prescence within the deck of cards that shuffle between my hands and the rememberence of eating her cookies, although the one in front of you just doesnt quite compare.

We can only choose to value and appreciate the minutes we are given, and what we decide to see in the seconds with those where there is lov, because it could be a matter of sixty seconds with them one day or the rest of your lifetime without them!

So give out a hug and hold on for a minute, tell someone how they make you feel, share the seconds of your day to play because those are the moments you will remember the most once they are gone,

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.