Poets logo

Waves

Song of Becoming

By sleepy draftsPublished 3 months ago β€’ Updated 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
26
photo taken by sleepy drafts

I used to think my identity was born

in pools of absence:

a clumsy collage of an individual

made up of photographs

cut out

from magazines and

advertisments with glossy pages;

advice columns and self-help books, or

vision boards and manifestations -

a rambunctious prayer for everything I am not.

Scrappy or just scraps?

My face feels like it is disintegrating,

a papier mache mask falling apart after years

of hiding empty holes

where my vulnerability should be.

I used to offer up the

soft bits of myself

so easily,

those pale gleams of underbelly,

beg for exposed flesh to be

lapped up by velvet tongues,

wait for the serenade of approval

before the slap of reprimand.

I learned that anything I fell in love with

would eventually be ripped away,

that if I didn't dance the monkey's dance

or sing its song,

if I instead smashed my symbols and

ran

I would lose the privilege

of ever hearing the music.

I'm still learning to recognize my voice,

to find lullabies in the silence -

their notes cascade over me in ethereal,

unfamiliar sounds.

I am an engima to myself

and yet people keep telling me

I am open sheet music.

I wish I knew what songs

they were reading.

I'm still learning

to find the notes,

rhythmic dirge-singing,

art of the slow release:

how to tame a flood.

I linger in the current

let silver water splash over my legs,

bare, cold, shaking.

Pools of absence rush around me,

a lake

a labyrinth.

Free Verse
26

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Be patient. Better to allow the tune to come find you than to force yourself to bathe in what is not already there & lose the tune forever.

  • Kalina Bethany3 months ago

    "wait for the serenade of approval before the slap of reprimand" these lines blew me away! Awesome piece Em :) I was reading sheet music for "Old MacDonald Had A Farm" last night, trying to teach myself piano again, and your line stating you used to be like open sheet music struck a sad childhood chord and a funny memory!

  • How did I miss this? It is incredibly descriptive and captivating. Fabulous entry

  • Naomi Gold3 months ago

    I love the imagery in this: magazines and vision boards and a papier-mΓ’chΓ© mask; music and a monkey with symbols; the circling back to the pool of absence. This was a well crafted collage of your deepest feelings, vividly revealing… yet relatable somehow.

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Phenomenal! Go Em Go!

  • S. A. Crawford3 months ago

    This is gorgeous! I love the tumbling rhythm you set, it feels like someone is saying it all in a breathless rush. Absolutely awesome!

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    The word choice was sublime and sent me

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is fantastic. The imagery is off the carts amazing. Great job.

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    Gorgeous piece!! Imagery in this is beyond words, expertly crafted, not too much just the right amount to impact with emotion and give image instantly in mind. Great job tackling the challenge!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I think this is my fave so far. Mesmerizing and heartfelt. People see the music in you long before you accept them. Lovely.

  • "I learned that anything I fell in love with would eventually be ripped away," Sadly, that is how the universe works. Such a sadist. And I'm a masochist. A life doomed from the beginning, lol. Loved your poem so much!

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    A gorgeous response to a challenging prompt!

  • Kodah3 months ago

    πŸ’— Incredibly beautiful poem, the rhythm was outstandingπŸ’—

  • This was so hood Em, you’re really showing off your talent here

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    This was brilliant I loved the choice of words.

  • I felt every word you wrote πŸ’™

  • Beautifully written and a sweet insight into you! We all love and appreciate you!

  • Krishan Mubashar3 months ago

    WOW! Absolutely outstanding!

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    What a journey, what a constant worry-full yet beautiful journey. I resonated with so much yet can tell you that you will find you’ve filled those empty spaces with doodles of yourself. Jigsaw an identity you’ll find simple joys in. Even weeds filled in cracks in pavement and so will you grow into yourself. You’ll hear the echo of your own heartbeat in the silence and know that it’s okay.

  • Ali SP3 months ago

    This is really beautiful and so full of Emotion! This is one of my favorite pieces by you ❀️

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    This is incredible! A beautifully worded and vulnerable reflection- thank you so much for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.