Poets logo

Fun House

Poppy's Prompt #5

By Dana CrandellPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
19
Fun House
Photo by Tech Nick on Unsplash

Descend with me into the depths of darkness

Where the wind strips the flesh from your bones.

Enclosed in an envelope of starkness,

Feel all hope of escape erode

As demons paint the walls with your blood.

Get your tickets here!

~~~

A/N: I thought I'd try one with a sliiiightly daker tone. This is for Poppy's Prompts #5. If you're not familiar with her prompts, check it out here and join in on the fun:

For FunCONTENT WARNING
19

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton9 days ago

    Ooh , so you dabble in darkness too? Well done, and that last line … 👌

  • Babs Iverson9 days ago

    Fabulous & Congratulations on the Leaderboard H M!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Rosie𐙚11 days ago

    I'm shivering, such an interesting read.

  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    What a different vibe from your last entry for this prompt that I read! Such a creepy and sinister tone!

  • Poppy 12 days ago

    This sounds like a very captivating blurb of a book that I would definitely buy!

  • Manisha Dhalani13 days ago

    Dark but so beautiful. Very relatable. Wonderful work!

  • This is exactlyyyyyyy how I feel right now so it resonated so deeply with me. Loved your poem!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)14 days ago

    Ooo! Not your usual darkness but I am all here for it!! Great work Dana!!

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    Definitely darker! I like the last line, drawing attention to our behaviour.

  • Gina C.14 days ago

    Whoa, this is chilling! I felt the wind cooling my blood as I read it. "As demons paint the walls with your blood." creates such a visual! I love this, Dana!

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    Oh damn, that was decidedly dark for you!! 'Get your tickets' was a fantastic, surprise last line. Great work!

  • Gerard DiLeo14 days ago

    I'd love to hear this sung by the Cure. Got my attention.

  • Fabulous work, Dana. I love this

  • JBaz14 days ago

    Definitely darker, I like the visual you painted

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    “Feel all hope of escape erode” Nice! Utterly dark. Perfect breakfast read, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.