Poets logo

Watercolor Lullaby

a villanelle

By Gina C.Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
Image created with Midjourney

I do still dream of you, sweet pea, as if you were a watercolor lullaby.

You are the daughter I have prayed for between dandelion wishes,

you are still a gleam within Orion, love, existing as a constellation butterfly.

*

I see you in my sleep, dear girl, where all your features come alive and vivify.

Liquid borders blur into a lucid world where I can paint your face with velvet kisses;

I do still dream of you, sweet pea, as if you were a watercolor lullaby.

*

At night it seems you sing my name out from the star-creped nations of the sky.

And I - I wait for you on Earth’s horizon without ladders, wings, or bridges…

you are still a gleam within Orion, love, existing as a constellation butterfly.

*

You could have come to us this April (had) our 25th carnation only blossomed in July.

But good riddance, Mother Nature - who’s left our hearts to bleed and fade in rotton stitches…

I do still dream of you, sweet pea, as if you were a watercolor lullaby.

*

I’ve been distant, I know, troubled: I haven’t quite been brazen and said why.

Now God and Science become allies as we funnel genes and blueprints through syringes;

you are still a gleam within Orion, love, existing as a constellation butterfly.

*

Oh, I imagine having mastered quantum physics: you and I are in my kitchen baking home-made apple pie.

I now cabin all my hope within the wombs of microscopes & petri dishes -

I do still dream of you, sweet pea, as if you were a watercolor lullaby.

You are still a gleam within Orion, love, existing as a constellation butterfly.

***

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

love poems

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (39)

  • Sarah Loyd4 months ago

    Beautiful work 🩷

  • Thavien Yliaster5 months ago

    You slapped me with the feels right in the feels harder than the beginning of the movie "Up," and that blonde lady who was burying a shoebox in a line of rose bushes from the movie "The Help." Goodness, I too desire the same as You. Constant imaginings of my progeny within my arms cooing, giggling, hearty laughter that ensues with velvet tickly kisses upon their chubby little cheeks. Though, I continue to and have gone on many a date, I still await to find a proper mate. Yet, You and Yours are together and are trying to weather through the plans of trying again and again, like a chorus with a constant refrain, yet, Mother nature seems to be causing You too pain. Test tubes, needles, cryo-refridgerators, and sanitary safety glasses with gloves in sterilized rooms, all needed for people that are having difficulties with their womb. Mother nature in Science with God given natural abilities to learn the secrets of physics and biology will advance us forward to our goals. Even if the goal is the most ancient of all. Go forth and multiple, Your descendants shall number as many as the stars in the night as there grains of sand that lie upon the beach and spread throughout the sea. For these days we worship intellectual progress with understanding and remove old gods of fortune, death, and fertility. Your poem, Your villanelle, its rhyme scheme, its meter, is all too well. This would bring spring to the winter, warming the heart of Demeter. Clairvoyance brings me a new perspective to see, words that were scared to leave are no longer trapped like when the lands return fertile for the arrival of Persephone. I believe in You and Yours my friend, and logic, Mother Nature, biology and physics will do the rest. We've learned to build homes, so controlling environments is what humans have learned to do best. Your emotions You'veaid to us bare, and I just know that life You'll beget will be given the utmost of care.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    The contrast of "watercolour lullaby" and "rotten stitches" had my head spinning. So impactful ❤

  • My your dreams find wondrous fulfillment, dear Gina.

  • ROCK 6 months ago

    Unbelievably soulful and ouch, ouch, ouch; my heart hurts. So felt every single word.

  • Shaun Walters6 months ago

    A beautiful work!

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Goodness. This takes me back. I spent my 30s living this poem. Beautifully penned. Love flying over to you. ❤️❤️❤️

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    Gina, This is so beautiful!😭❤ Congratulations on the top story!

  • Test6 months ago

    Lovely poem!!!💕❤️❤️Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Beautiful! Congrats on making top story

  • Test6 months ago

    Just stunning, I love the reference to dandelion wishes so much! 🤍

  • Chinedu Onyema 6 months ago

    Beautiful!🌹🌲🎄

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    So beautiful and sad...

  • My heart broke so much for you dear Red Partner. I'm so sorry 🥺 I was so happy to see that you've published a new poem (because I missed reading them) but I didn't expect it to be so sad. I hope you're doing okay. Congratulations on your Top Story! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • K. Kocheryan6 months ago

    What a beautiful piece. Congrats on Top Story

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️ hugs to you, my friend!! This is so beautiful. ❤️❤️

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    This is just beautiful, so full of emotion, and I barely noticed the format, it flowed so well.

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Wows to the tenth power! This is incredible!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Well now. Not surprised at all. Congrats on this wonderful entry with a touch of Gina magic and for Top Story.

  • Well done.

  • Brahim elbaz 6 months ago

    Hi i'm a writer too Can u support me by Reading one of my articles🫀🫀

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Where have you been. You are the reason I try to create passable art, you are so great at it. This is so wonderfully deep and sad, hopeful and filled with longing. Such a job well done. Glad to see you back.

  • Lovely words and a beautiful image

Gina C.Written by Gina C.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.