Poets logo

Until I Did

Love Shows Up Unexpectedly

By Misty RaePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
23
Love at first sight

I didn't notice you,

Until I did.

I didn't want you,

Until I did.

I didn't notice your absence from my life,

Until I did.

It was your brother

That caught my eye,

If I'm honest.

Tall,

Dark,

And strong,

With eyes so blue.

But it was you,

That came to me

Open heart, so full of love,

A joy for life,

Infectious,

Intoxicating.

Your deep brown eyes

Melted my soul.

I stood before you,

Awestruck.

Breathless,

Helpless,

Reaching desperately for an anchor

A ground.

Something,

Anything,

To restore my senses.

And at that moment,

You reached for me,

I reached back.

I was chosen,

And I chose too.

Hearts and minds connected

In an instant.

I had no idea you were mine,

Until I did.

I didn't love you,

Until I did.

I didn't know I needed you

Until I did.

And now I do.

My Rudy and his brother at the farm



Me and my boy, Rudy

love poems
23

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Love this, so sincere and heartfelt - Anneliese

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is such a sweet poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.