Poets logo

Unhinged

Maybe, Just A Little

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read

here I stand, at a fork in the road

no longer willing to do as I'm told

this rerun you're playing is sure getting old

my love for you has grown frozen and cold

*

it's high time I think, we should call it a day

on these crazy games that you love to play

the ones making you feel like a cheap cliche

I could never believe what you had to say

*

your maybes now clearly, should have been no's.

I kept holding on, when I should've let go.

kept telling me lies, solely to keep me close.

it's now crystal clear, you love yourself the most.

*

I need some protection, a new guided direction

something that lasts more than a backseat distraction

a meaningful transaction, to give my feet traction

a hard backhanded reaction, (to drop you to the ground)

*

Unhinged?

yeah, maybe, but then, who would blame me

Unhinged

at last, just in time, here - to save me

Unhinged

yeah, I guess that I can live with that

Unhinged

gone for good, and I 'm never looking back

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    That's the way to shed your feelings. Just let it out.

  • I love being unhinged. It's my shield against shitty people. Loved your poem!

  • Sometimes being unhinged can be a good thing, especially when the door frame is incompatible with the shape of who you are. You deserve to have someone who loves you in your life, Kelli, not just someone who "wants" you. (Everyone does.)

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    Very well written and I love the cadence, More power to you! 💖

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    funny you should write something like since this is exactly how I felt when my first husband left home. My feelings in words... thank you. Unhinged? NO, survived.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.