Poets logo

Unentitled

Playing With My Dreams

By ROCK Published 29 days ago 1 min read
11
Unentitled
Photo by Nicholas Gray on Unsplash

I don't like to think of you in my sombre hours, why must you torcher me when I've lost my powers? Deep within my R.E.M. you strip away the veil, waking me with a rush, your memories are my hell. You're mocking life as if we had another, you weren't just a man, you were like my brother. The trust now cracked, the sorrow seeping, like broken, blood filled veins, the break grows greater than the cut, each heartbeat is a strain. Like a dam meant to stop the harmful breaching floods, you open up well sealed gates, washing me through soggy muds; I try to crawl up the banks to where daylight beams askew, I pull myself all dirty, out from under the likes of you.

Do not take another step into the sleep I savour, you're not given more of me, my dreams are not a waiver. If I knew how to hurt you, to burst the dam in you, I know I would not do so, for it's God who'll burst your truth.

heartbreakProseFree Verse
11

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock26 days ago

    And when all is revealed, ah, what fools we shall discover we all have been.

  • Gosh this was extremely powerful and I freaking loved it!

  • John Cox28 days ago

    Potent stuff! Your memories are my Hell is a wonderful and heartbreaking line. Well done, ROCK!

  • Rowan Finley 28 days ago

    Very full of emotions and power here.

  • Oh! The last para felt me a lot. Profound. Thank you!

  • Wow! Best! I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.