Poets logo

Top Story

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
42
Top Story
Photo by Riley McCullough on Unsplash

Top story

Oh what a glory

To wake up and see

You’ve beat an untold number of contenders today

Oh hooray

What a wonderful day

But the downside is once the dopamine high is gone

It is all you long for

To see

Is it me today?

Nope

Not today

But let me see what others have done

Does their writing inspire me?

Is this a picture I see something in?

Can I write something for one more small win

Oh well

Time to do what I always do

Write whatever comes to mind

And see what happens with time

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
42

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Congratulations on top story!🎉🎉🎉

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    You write very well please visit my vocal id and leave a comment about how I write stories and how I write stories

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I loved this! I just subscribed; YAY!!! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dariusz 2 months ago

    Congratulations on top story :)

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    I love this! It's true, no matter Top Story or not, all we can do is keep writing and enjoy the process! Wonderful piece. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    It's a great little piece, and all we can do is try and try again. Fireworks go off when we hit a top-story.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I had feeling you were going to get Top Story, when I read it in Facebook group

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Gerald Holmes2 months ago

    Well that was perfectly said! Couldn't agree more. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    Brilliant! Loved this, an irony indeed.

  • dqs center2 months ago

    Well done on top story of course. <a href=“https://tuvanisovietnam.com/”>Tu van iso</a>

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Don't get cocky! 😉

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    You nailed it. We all look for the attention. Someone to tell us we're on track. i check Vocal more than I check Facebook. A much healthier choice I think.

  • Joe Patterson2 months ago

    Perfectly relatable and a beautifully ironic win, congratulations.

  • Rene Peters2 months ago

    So true! Also congrats on top story!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Marysol Ramos2 months ago

    Why do we like having a top story? For me it’s because I feel seen and liked. I end up feeling important and like I matter. It’s a nice feeling. I’ve learned to carry those feelings and truths even when my “TS” moment runs out and hasn’t come again. I know I’m seen, I know I’m liked/loved, I know I’m talented, and I know I’m important. As are all of you! My story “Flame and light” and “December Snow & a Frozen Soul” touch on that. I also posted a piece asking for all you wonderful writers to “spam” me. Being unseen doesn’t mean you’re unworthy, it literally just means you haven’t been found/seen. Congrats on the top story! We all relate to it so well !!!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Congrats on your TOP STORY! :)

  • Only once in a..., what's that song? "Blue Moon...." On the bright side, my wife thinks they make a pretty good beer.

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    Absolutely. I keep trying and all too often, my work gets read less and less. What the heck am I doing wrong? Guess it just depends on when you post. Or at least that's my assumption. Congratulations on your TS. It really hits home.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad2 months ago

    Yup, that pretty much sums up the feeling of getting a top story and how you feel after the excitement wears off. Well done, and congrats on the Top Story.

  • Ashley Shiflett2 months ago

    Congrats on top story! 👏 Greay poem! Hit the nail on the head.

  • Matthew Fromm2 months ago

    Oooo this is well done and hits the nail on the head. Great job embodying that feeling

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Well done on top story of course!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.