Poets logo

Toddlerhood

The Love and Pain that come with it.

By Marissa BendickPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

it’s a wild concept

The fact

That my kneecaps

Don’t bend that way.

Shocking.

Yet, you insist

On standing

On my knees

With all your weight.

All twenty-four and a half pounds.

My knees

Have become your jumping off point.

My knees! Can you imagine?!

Funny thing, that.

But just look at how high you can jump!

That’s what’s most important.

And you land so perfectly

On my head!

With your elbow

In my eye socket.

You seem comfy enough

To stay on my head.

That’s nice.

Your comfort is also important.

So, good on you.

Thank you for the concussion,

I appreciate the token

Of this fond memory.

But then you do something

So sweet and so tender.

You cup my cheek and smile at me

You gaze into my eyes

You kiss my forehead, so gently and so softly.

You hug me and hum in joy

“Mmmm. Mama.”

There I go.

There I melt. I am a puddle.

Dammit, I love you so fucking hard!

I love you, my son.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Marissa Bendick

she/her.

Wife and mother.

Artist, writer, creator.

Exploring the vastness within me and manifesting authenticity and love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Oh how I miss those days! Love this

  • J. Delaney-Howe6 months ago

    I can't love this enough! I have four kids, all grown now, and I miss those days!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Awww I love this one! ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.