Poets logo

"today, or tomorrow"

A poem about procrastination, or uncertainty, or imposter syndrome, or maybe a little bit of everything.

By Aidan CliftonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
"today, or tomorrow"
Photo by Ian M Jones on Unsplash

Today is to do and a time is to die,

(Or perhaps a time is to laugh and to cry)

To whisper a caution again and again

To a wind which listlessly listens ahead

For wind, a time is to fly and to roam

(Yet for man, a time is to shiver and groan)

Faced with a question that hasn’t been asked,

And a list of to-do’s been redundantly tasked

Alas, I confess, it cannot be I -

Not I who lives to laugh and cry

Nor I who lives to sing and dance-

Not I who sleeps to dream perchance

No, no,

It is not I,

Not I.

Before the sun will call retreat

And golden lamplight wash the street,

Before their faces all retire

(in silk or dirt or cotton attire)

Then, perhaps, it will be time

To sing and laugh and dance and cry

And watch a pregnant sun collapse,

Into a brilliant golden trance

And where the sun and moon will meet,

With longing gaze and reddened cheeks,

Where light will kiss my thinning hair,

(Mankind lacks much kindness there- )

Then, perhaps, it will be time,

To live, to laugh, to care, to try,

But thrice, I assert, it is not I

Not I who lives to laugh and cry,

Not I whose voice will take the stage

Trembling with a passionate rage

Instead, I think I will retire

Into the arms of my admired

I’ll sit and breathe my cares away;

The world can wait another day.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Aidan Clifton

When I get those existential aches and pains, I take my daily dose of existential advil® and create some [self-indulgent] art

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.