Poets logo

DARKNESS

A Time To Rest

By Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)Published 13 days ago 1 min read
6
DARKNESS
Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

The lights are out, doors are shut close, it's peaceful and quiet tonight in this neighbourhood as families retire to sleep. I'm sitting outside my house, looking up to the sky and beholding the beauty of this glorious night. The wind is blowing, trees are swaying as somewhere deep inside their leaves storage of starch is taking place, especially in my mangoe tree at my backyard.

My mind shifts from the flora around my yard to the fauna in the wild. They are grateful to the creator for the food they find tonight. They are roaming freely and happily without fear of man as this time is set apart for them while man rests.

I look up and marvel. Surely there is a God who is wiser and loving. He understood that my worn-out body cells need replacement and He gave me this night to sleep. I will embrace my darkness and use it to rest.

Good night and sweet dreams.

Blackout
6

About the Creator

Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)

I love reading and researching to gain inspiration and ideas. I appreciate those who write and I hope I can inspire you with my writings too. 

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Farhat Naseem12 days ago

    what a line...... I will embrace my darkness and use it to rest.

  • This was so blissful and beautiful! Loved this so much!

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    Beautiful!! Sleep and rest - I need some of that. ❤️

  • You crafted it with full of feelings.

  • Gabriel Huizenga13 days ago

    What a beautiful piece! I feel like I am right there seeing this, your descriptions are so lovely.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.