Poets logo

Tis The Season

Magic Of Elastic

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago โ€ข Updated 5 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
30
Tis The Season
Photo by Artem Labunsky on Unsplash

Elastic pants and body suits

jogging pants and old sweatshirts

I tilt my hips to let out a toot

a Thanksgiving Day introvert

Tryptophan got me again

I could barely stay awake

Why do I need to explain

I like to eat, for goodness sake

I make my way to the sofa

grab my trusty old remote

Pop open a can of soda

to make a root beer float

Yeah, sure I'm full - so sue me

that's what the elastic's for

Thanksgiving Day is guilt free

You know I'm going back for more

So, judge or join - just, back off

Keep your shaming to yourself

The leftovers and I will standoff

while I fall asleep watching Elf

humorHoliday
30

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ nice!! Thanks for sharing. Maybe we should print it and pull it out each year for those shaming usโ€ฆ

  • Andrew C McDonald5 months ago

    Great job. Lol.

  • Diana Penn5 months ago

    Love this!

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    Yes; I'll second that Kelli! This is really enjoyable and very outspoken.

  • Stuffing yourself: itโ€™s the reason for the season, right? This is clever and fun. Well done!

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Love me some Elf xD Super fun poem; I felt like Alice through the looking glass -- completely immersed. โค๏ธ

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Some poems deserve to be memorized...

  • Test5 months ago

    I don't do thanksgiving on account of Britishness but this perfectly captured Christmas. very clever and funny ๐Ÿค Congrats on great top story!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    hahaahhaah, so clever! Thank god of or elastic pants!! Congrats on TS!!

  • J. S. Wade5 months ago

    Haha! Light a match and move over. Congratulations ๐Ÿ…

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Love it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    ๐Ÿคฃ love this one

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Excellent! Congrats on the TS

  • Test5 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic workโ€”congratulations!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Best Thanksgiving poem I've read!

  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    Ha ha brilliant ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Elf is a tradition in my house. Loved this casual off beat piece. Describes the holiday perfectly eat way too much and relax

  • Samuel 5 months ago

    Good read! My name is Samuel would love if we could support each otherโ€™s artistic journey! ๐Ÿ“

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Bahahah! ๐Ÿ‘ Also havenโ€™t watched Elf in ages but that made me laugh too! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • That's what the elastics are for. Lol! Loved your poem!

  • Sounds like an ideal Thanksgiving. But can you really fall asleep during "Elf", lol? Loved every bit of this.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    this is great. Loved the humor and the flow.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I'm feeling your vibe here...

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    And a happy holidays to you too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.