Poets logo

The Way To Make An Ex Is This

An e(X) Series Poem

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
14
The Way To Make An Ex Is This
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The way to make an ex is this

Scream upon his ear with fear

All the things that you hold dear

Force upon him future wishes

Braced upon present misses

Pound and push your fleeting demand

Until he comes with reprimand

Keep this up for days on end

I promise you a finale grand.

His will be the following response

Walking quickly out of your house.

Inspiration For This Poem

As I reflect on the relationships throughout my life, I realized there are a lot of exes: ex-friends, ex-coworkers, ex-boyfriends, ex-husband and more. Thus came my idea of a collection of poems dedicated to e(X)s: Things crossed out along the way on my journey.

This poem is something that popped into my head to the cadence of Emily Dickinson’s “The Way I read a Letter's—this.”

I love Mark Chestnutt’s “That’s The Way You Make An Ex,” a superbly funny country version of how to lose a woman. So I wanted to create a female, non-country, witty, lacking wisdom response. The sum of Chestnutt’s advice comes in the chorus:

So listen to my words of no wisdom

There's no secret to my lack of success

Once she draws the line just cross it one time

That's the way you make an ex

If you want a good laugh about what a fed-up woman does when her man isn’t on the same page, take a listen…

humorlove poemsheartbreak
14

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship.

For products and services, visit: stephaniebradberry.com

For online courses, visit: bradberryacademy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I'll keep this in mind for when I need to get rid 😁

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Great poem and I love Emily Dickinson! The show on Apple TV was so fire. I miss it so much.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I love that there will be a collection! This was well written, and it’s inspiring me. I could definitely write a how-to for driving people away.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Very well done. And loved that song.

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    Very relatable, I think you should make a longer expanded version of this poem.

  • Loved & thoroughly enjoyed both the poem & the song.

  • Amjad Ateih Dib9 months ago

    sister you have nice work keep going don't stop

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Spectacular & know I know!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    I feel like this method would work very well. 🥹 Awesome poem and I loved the afterword 🥹❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Sounds like a successful method. I love the wording and the rhymes as well as the added tidbits. Well done, Stephanie.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    lol. Great poem.

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Great poem. Would have made a fitting flip-side to 50 ways to leave your lover, perhaps.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.