Poets logo

The Spooky Season Challenge

I want to know what you love about this time of year

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
22
Jack 'O Lantern; the ultimate Halloween accessory?

If you know me, you'll know I love two things: Scottish history and Spooky Season. I've written about the history of Jack O'Lanterns and Guising (commonly called Trick or Treating outside of Scotland), but now I want to celebrate the upcoming season. It's a special one after all; I turn 30 the week before Halloween.

So, Vocal community, I'm asking you to help make my 30th memorable and special; write a poem in any form, tell me what you love about Spooky Season and I'll read them all. I'll also highlight my favourites and (with the permission of the author and full credit to them, of course) maybe record spoken versions of some and share them on other platforms to spread the spooky joy.

Just comment with a link to your entry - I hope to read many spooky verses in the weeks to come! Here's my offering to get us started;

When the nights become long,

and cool and dim,

the leaves begin to fall,

and I feel a shiver of joy within.

Like the answer to a ghostly call.

The veil between us is growing thin,

and the Others will soon crawl forth.

*

Magic has not left us,

it gathers in the gloom.

It slithers through the dark corners,

and waits in empty rooms,

for children with painted faces,

and plastic light up tombs.

*

Hail to Spooky Season,

I've missed you my old friend,

in your face I see my past,

and a future without end.

*

Here are some of the entries so far-

The Bones of Halloween - Mike Singleton

Autumn Embrace - Veronica Coldiron

Bring on Spooky Season - Dana Crandell

humor
22

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynda Spargur6 months ago

    Not so spooky but hopefully it helps you to enjoy your birthday. https://vocal.media/poets/octo-burr

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Great idea and hope it ‘cheers’? your Birthday 🥳

  • Hazel Rymell 8 months ago

    Loved this! Well done ❤️

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Happy upcoming Birthday and thanks for this fun challenge! Here's my somewhat offbeat contribution: https://vocal.media/poets/bring-on-spooky-season

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    I LOVED your poem and have subscribed! Also, I wrote a poem for your challenge. Probably not really all that worthy, but I tried. 😂🤣😅🤣 https://vocal.media/poets/autumn-embrace

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    Great poem! Halloween is my favorite holiday (and I love Scottish history and folklore) so I'll have to write one! 😈

  • Excellent idea, I have four poems that I want to write, you have made it five. I loved your and will put something together soon, maybe a villanelle

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Well, any excuse to celebrate a birthday, right? I'm not a fan of Halloween's, but I love spooky movies. ;-) I enjoyed reading your poem!

  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    Sounds like fun 😄 and happy birthday for next month!

  • Addison M8 months ago

    Fantastic idea and an enjoyable offering to start it all off.

  • Lynda Spargur8 months ago

    Ooh! I love the Spooky Season. Off to write a poem...

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wonderful idea, and your poem is great. Here is one I wrote last year, if you'd like to see. https://vocal.media/poets/night-of-screams

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I think this really evokes the kind of "friendly" cosy spookiness I love about Halloween.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Superb poem and challenge!!! Love it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • I will give this thought and see what I come up with! Lovely idea… and happy upcoming birthday 🥳 🤍🕊️✨

  • ema8 months ago

    Very interesting! I love your verses!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.