Poets logo

Bring on Spooky Season!

A product of my warped mind (Sorry!)

By Dana CrandellPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
16
Bring on Spooky Season!
Photo by Sabina Music Rich on Unsplash

I really have to start this one off with an explanation and I'll be posting a few links after the poem. First of all, it was written in response to S. A. Crawford's "Spooky Season Challenge." Second, it was unknowingly inspired in a weird way by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden's piece, entitled "Scarecrows and Mazes." (Here's where it started to get weird.) The meter of that title immediately brought to my mind a Julie Andrews song from "The Sound of Music." Can you guess which one? Never mind. It was "My Favorite Things." So, this poem is set to the tune of that song. It also has an Elvira reference in the second line, because I needed a good rhyming word and I was a fan. (I'm a guy, I was young once, and I love scary movies.) I'm afraid it just went downhill from there, but the final stanza (the bridge of the song, sort of) actually states my "reason for the season." Hold on; here we go and I hope you have fun:

Pumpkins and scarecrows and feisty black kitties

Witches with nose warts (and some with nice _____)

Peanuts on TV for the thousandth time

(How am I going to make this line rhyme?)

*

Warm pumpkin pie with a ton of whipped topping

Pumpkin seeds roasting and kettle corn popping

Warm quesadillas, tamales, good beer

(Cause I'll have those any time of the year)

*

Silly corn mazes and great haunted houses

Where some of us met our (then) future spouses

Kids trick-or-treating and zombies and things

Just a few fun things that this season brings

*

Spooky Season

Is the reason

That my Pam is here

And that's why I love that fall nip in the air

And wait for it eeeeeeee-v'ry yeeeeeear!

***

Ok. Here's the challenge that started it, and It's a fun one that you should enter:

And here's Kelli's awesome poem for the season:

And finally, here's a video of the song, on the off chance that you don't know the tune:

Thanks for reading, folks! Warning: More weirdness is highly likely!

love poemsperformance poetryhumorCONTENT WARNING
16

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    I absolutely loved this! You have outdone yourself!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Dana, I think my favourite pieces by you are the ones that start out with an apology. But I also think that’s because I know I’m about to get into some mad scientist kind of brilliance from you!! I most certainly read this poem to the tune of “these are my favourite things”! What rhymes with kitties Dana???!! LMFAO, I laughed so hard I cried!! Thank you for that!! 🤣🤣 This was so great!! I love it!!!

  • S. A. Crawford7 months ago

    Oh my goodness, this is fantastic! I read it to the tune in my head and that just made it better! Thank you so much for joining in my wee challenge

  • Thank you so much for the video of the song because I didn't know the tune to sing your poem to. Also, titties! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Angelina F. Thomas7 months ago

    Your work of art is super funny and hilarious. You made my morning go from sad to laughter. keep up the excellence. Thanks.

  • Delightful! "The Sound of Music" was one of the first movies I remember seeing at the Plaza Theater in Watertown, SD. The ticket line stretched all the way down to the far end of the block, around the corner & half of that block. There weren't enough seats together for us to sit as a family & so I got to watch it with one of brothers with everyone else scattered all over.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Omg, I love this! And yes, I sang it and also lol a few times.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Love this

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I smiled ALL the way through that, love it.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Enjoyed singing this!!! ♥️♥️💕 'Favorite Things,' from the Sound of Music has been a lifetime favorite!!!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    You old romantic, you! I sang it in my head! second line and last line of first verse lols! pure dead brilliant, sir!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Ha! Good one, Dana! Loved everything about it. Tis the season! 👻

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    Autumn is my all time second favourite season! It's got one of the only holidays that almost none is mad at and the weather is perfect! Bright and sunny, with a chill in the air that lets you wear a scarf, and the subtle crunch of leaves underfoot!

  • Fantastic! Of course, I sang it. 🎃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.