Poets logo

Octo-Burr

A celebration of the first month of Fall

By Lynda SpargurPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
2
(C) Breanne Wilson

Completely forgot when I posted to mention this is part of The Spooky Season Challenge by S. A. Crawford. You can find the challenge here:

Summer sun begins to fade

And the air begins to chill

A spark grows deep inside of me

It’s my favorite time of the year!

.

Days grow shorter and nights longer

Leaves turn from green to gold

Crisp leaves crunch under booted feet

Dew hangs on grass and trees

.

Ghosts and pumpkins are on the porch

Cobwebs, scarecrows make a spooky host

Witches and pirates roam the streets

It's time to ask for tricks or treats

.

Walking silently through the night

The shadows grow so dark

A frantic chill runs up my spine

I celebrate - it’s spooky time!

childrens poetrynature poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Lynda Spargur

Screenwriter, Author, Creative Writer

Writer, dreamer, creator of new imaginary souls. Using my experiences to develop a better future. Crime stories, baseball and The Beach Boys are my passions.

Authors I love:

Tony

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Such a wonderful poem to set the mood for Halloween! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.