Poets logo

The One Who Completes Me

A Poem for Mark

By J. Delaney-HowePublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
14
Photo Credit to the Author

Sometimes in life, we are lucky enough to find a partner who fits. We are better together than we are apart. They fill your missing pieces, and you fill theirs. I am blessed enough to have found that.

When I am lost

You come find me

*****

When I am in the darkness

You bring me light

*****

When I am exhausted

You give me rest

*****

When I am discouraged by this cold, cruel world

You bring me warmth and hope

*****

When I want to give up and quit

You encourage me to keep going and support me along the way

*****

When I am happy

You are happy with me

*****

When I am celebrating even the smallest victories

You celebrate with me.

*****

When I am content

You do what you can to keep me that way

*****

When I am full of joy

Your face beams as bright as mine

*****

When I am whole and not broken into a million pieces

You give me a hug that holds all the pieces together.

Thank you for reading my piece. If you would like to read more, click on my profile link below. Every read and engagement is appreciated.

Here is another poem about my husband and I meeting for the first time.

inspirationallove poems
14

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, my HEART. πŸ˜­πŸ’“ This is what love should be. Beautifully done. I am so happy that you two have each other πŸ’“πŸ’•

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    What a beautiful thing it is to find and have that special person in your life πŸ’œ

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Hi JD - I've commented on your stories a while back - but I have a renewed interest in your so ecletic work since mention of you via our Village-Mate, Judey. I'm just an old fashion StoryTeller - Not into contests or rewards. But appreciate your 'Original' offerings among the many snippers with sharp scissors. * I've once again, subscribed with pleasure to see what 'interesting' adventure you choose for us next. 'j' in l.a. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    🧑lovely

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was so good. I could feel every line. powerful poem

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This is just so sweet and honest and tender. So happy that you have your soul mate, beautiful work :)

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Beautiful words to express a beautiful love ❀️

  • Beautiful words

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    It’s beautiful when someone find their soulmate . Lovely and heartwarming poem ,when someone is with the love of their life. πŸ₯°

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely love & inspirational poem!!! Left some love πŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜Š

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece and I'm happy you have someone who supports you so. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.