Poets logo

The One That Got Away

Dis-connected: Vol 1 - 16 (ᴏғ ᴀ ᴘᴇʀꜱᴏɴ) ʟᴀᴄᴋɪɴɢ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴀᴄᴛ ᴡɪᴛʜ ʀᴇᴀʟɪᴛʏ. ᴀ ᴄᴏʟʟᴇᴄᴛɪᴏɴ ᴏғ ᴍʏ ᴅᴇᴇᴘᴇꜱᴛ ғᴇᴇʟɪɴɢꜱ ɪɴ ɪᴛ'ꜱ ᴍᴏꜱᴛ ᴅʀᴀᴍᴀᴛɪᴄ ꜱᴛᴀᴛᴇ.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
The One That Got Away
Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

16. The One That Got Away

You were so perfect from the moment I laid eyes on you.

From your beauty, and your tones, to the surprises inside.

On the outside there were others attempting to steal away or diminish your shine but you'd never let that happen. You outshined them all without batting an eye.

As I ascended the path into your hollowed heart I saw future visions all around.

I saw you, I saw him, I saw them, and I saw me and together we celebrated in perfect harmony. Our peace and serenity that we felt we deserved.

You were a safe haven waiting to be claimed. A wild beast that wanted to be tamed. I'd never felt so protected before.

...but you got away.

I couldn't afford you. You'd cost my life. I never wanted to leave without putting up a fight, but even though I tried you're still out of my sight.

I thought you were my blessing, only meant for me. This was proven inaccurate immediately.

I've done all I can to be able to stay, but it looks like you'll always be the one who got away.

My heart feels heavy, I'm ready to cry I didn't even get a chance to tell you goodbye.

So this is goodbye take it from me. I was told if I really loved you I'd set you free.

Fly, fly, soar my little bird. I'm so overwhelmed with emotion I can't even write anymore...

love poems

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia LedellWritten by Alicia Ledell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.