Poets logo

The Deepest Blues

Aren't Always Sad - Poem

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
22
The Deepest Blues
Photo by Fabrizio Conti on Unsplash

Lost in deepest blues

From one to another

One extremity to another

Life's river flows

From tranquility to disquietening despondency

sadness to serenity

From the darkest depression to crystal clear rejuvenation

Sky so blue, I see you above me

Lift my mood high

Raise my spirits

As I drink

From life-giving waters

Satisfying and fulfilling

hydrating and oxygenating

With the deepest blues

are the deepest lows, for sure

But the deepest blues

Also offer

calmness, restfullness

Peace.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is in response to the excellent and very supportive Poppy's colour writing prompt, which you can find out more about here:

Also, major milestone will be hit this week, and I have a treat (well sorta treat? Maybe you won't think that when I do it haha!!) that I need to sort, but will. Anyway, the bottom line is - watch this space.

Until then, you can also take a look at some other recently published pieces like, if you have the time and inclination:

Or check out the rest of my work here.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
22

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Beautifully done, Paul! I love the contrast between water's darkness and calmness here. ❤️

  • Meg9 months ago

    I really enjoyed the line "From tranquility to disquietening despondency". Amazing poem!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Great entry to the challenge Paul. Very soothing and also no deaths at the end this time! 😊 I liked the binaries and the overarching imagery of water.

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    This actually made me sleepy - In a good way!

  • Test9 months ago

    A wonderful twist on ‘the blues’. I love this, Paul. Very well done! 💕🙂

  • Blue definitely is very calm and peaceful. Oooo, I wonder what milestone is that. I thought maybe you'll be hitting 500 stories but you're at 432 as of now. So maybe it's your reads! I just hope your special treat isn't Rickrolling me 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • "Blue, blue, it's blue they say on the far side of sky. Blue, blue I'm goin' away though I have no reason why." (Sorry, couldn't help myself.)

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    I love this! I love the comparison and offering a different view of blue. 'From tranquility to disquietening despondency sadness to serenity From the darkest depression to crystal clear rejuvenation' Is just stunningly written! Also major milestone?! I'm keen!

  • Beautiful… love the contrasting emotions, with the positive ending.

  • This is astute, Paul. I love your perspectives on the deepest blues. After reading your work, I started thinking about "The Blues," music that resonates with the soul's pain. Kudos! 💙👏💙

  • Frankie Martinelli9 months ago

    Amazing stuff! 💙

  • Mika Oka9 months ago

    Beautiful words

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is beautifully done.

  • Nice💙📝👌

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    I got lost in your peaceful blue poem! Fantastic work 😍🥰😘

  • Test9 months ago

    Love this! So poignant and beautifully done -Stunning response! 🤍🤍🤍

  • Nice word play on the meanings of ‘blue’. Well done, Paul.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.