Poets logo

Succumbing to the Void

The workings of my sub conscious

By Colleen Millsteed Published 9 months ago 2 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I wander the barren landscape under the glow of the full moon,

Waiting, anticipating, ready for anything,

Silence screams at me, bashing me in full frontal,

As I hesitate to see what exactly it brings.

🌙

Frogs croak in a night chorus, calling to the spirits,

The choir is filled with the night bird’s song,

A howl is sounding off in the distance,

Letting me know that all’s not well, there’s something wrong.

🌙

The darkness jumps me and brings me to the ground,

I roll and grapple with the strength of the night,

Not pulling my punches as I slap the blackness,

Rollicking upon the ground as I desperately fight.

🌙

I beat back and stand once more on my own two feet,

And listen to the racing of footsteps coming my way,

Heartbeat thundering in my chest, attempting to break free,

Not knowing what I’ll face, am I foreplay or entree?

🌙

I step sideways, out of the clearing and from under the moonbeam,

Waiting, hesitating, listening hard,

The steps falter, go silent, my anxiety rises,

As I raise my fists, ready and on guard.

🌙

Then into the light steps a warrior knight,

For Pete’s sake, is he really holding a perfect bouquet?

He kneels in the clearing’s centre, head bowed and waits,

As I edge out of hiding, eager to hear what he has to say.

🌙

He smiles in delight and offers up the flowers,

I stretch out my hands to take the sacred gift,

When I hear a whistling high speeding it from another direction,

And my warrior knight is flung into the air in a sudden lift.

🌙

I watch in horror as he floats to the ground,

A metal arrow piercing him from ear to ear,

I drop the bouquet and flee for my life,

Trembling and stumbling in my greatest fear.

🌙

As I round a corner on this well worn animal trail,

I flounder right into the nest of a crocodile,

I’m flat on my back looking into the owner’s eyes,

When he smiles and tells me to stay awhile.

🌙

Just as I’m admitting defeat on the understanding I am the entree,

I open my mouth to let out an unholy scream,

No sound, just deafening silence, I’m certain I’m history,

When I suddenly realise this is nothing more than a dream.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

humor

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    And how long does it take to recover from the resultant angst once awake?

  • Omgggg this was a wild ride! It was like so scary, then so sweet, then scary again and all of it was just a dream, lol. This was so creative!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Such a great poem! And so descriptive!

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.