Poets logo

Stay With Me

as we go into the dark

By Donna ReneePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
37
Stay With Me
Photo by Nina Hill on Unsplash

My dear,

take my hand and hear (if you can),

for I know you fade away.

We felt that life was oh so long

'til we saw, we knew, deep down

Time was up.

So, my soul, my love

let's leap

hand and hand

into the long, cold, dark

You know our fire will burn like the sun...

Have no fear.

Know no pain.

Just rest.

This love will keep us warm.

love poems
37

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz7 months ago

    I truly wish I could write poetry, it is pieces like yours that inspires me to try. Heartbreaking sad yet so beautiful and uplifting.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Lovely and comforting and brave 😁❤

  • You captured this so well. Very good work Donna

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    Beautiful! ❤️

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Thank you!❤️

  • I feel this deep down. Thank you! 💙

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Like a prayer...

  • Amjad Ateih Dib9 months ago

    nice work keep going sister

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    This is so real and hits so close to the feelings of loved ones on the way home. Like a picture postcard of goodbyes and hope for the coming reunion. Sadly beautiful.

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Gorgeous, Donna! Is there a love more true than the one you have at the very last moment? Reminded me of my grandparents that passed within hours of each other. This is a winner in my book!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Oh so beautiful Donna ❤️❤️ Loved this ❤️

  • Test9 months ago

    Lovely and so sentimental. Nice poem, Donna💙 Anneliese

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Aw, this is so, so sweet 🥹❤️ Some emotions were definitely evoked here 🥹❤️ Wonderful job, Donna! ❤️

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    So poignant and beautiful! I love this, Donna 💕😊

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Donna, this was such an emotional and heartfelt poem! It was passionate and so lovingly written, I can sense the love that blossomed into this beautifully written piece! You write words most don't dare speak, it was inspiring and courageous! I loved it! 🥰

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Oh damn. Right in the heart. Well done on this Donna! I know those kinda feelings all too well with my Nonna passing. Even though we were not as close as we once were. This is beautiful.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Donna, this was superb!° Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Emma Kate Coleman9 months ago

    Oh my gosh, this is beautiful! Old love is so often the sweetest. Loved it, Donna!

  • How often have I been sitting by the bedside of one with family gathered all around & this is precisely what everyone wants to communicate?

  • This made me feel so blissful! Your poem made me feel safe and reassured. It's like a warm cup of cocoa just hugged me. I freaking love your poem!

  • Conor Darrall9 months ago

    Stunning!! 💚💜

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Breathtaking ❤️

  • Caroline Craven9 months ago

    This is just beautiful Donna. I think we all want a love like this - one that never fades. Great stuff.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is so beautiful. Makes me think of a dear friend of mine. Her Mom recently passed. I know her parents well also. Everyday I see FB posts from her Dad re how much he loved and misses his wife. It's heartwrenching.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.