Poets logo

Spelunking till the End

I'm not claustrophobic, but i always thought this particular experience would be panic inducing for anyone.

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 12 months ago 1 min read

I feel so close to nature

I feel its warm embrace

I feel its serenity and grace

Simply being there forever existing

Unmoving and unflinching

Its magnificence so grand

And majestically spanned

Yet flaws nature has torn

In its walls straight to the core

Flaws I must jump in and explore

-

My leg is caught in something…

I can’t get it out, my heart is thumping

I shake and shake

I pull and break

Nothing is happening. I’m stuck in place

Space so sparse, not enough to move my arse

I can’t get the leverage for my leg to separate

From the rock underneath

I’m built up with seethe

This beautiful nature is quickly becoming

The immutable razor my folly begotten

-

For air I’m longing

But this place has become my coffin

Nowhere to escape this beautiful rockscape

My heart pounding and in sweat I’m draped

My eyes feel heavy.

Is this the end of me?

For goodness sake…

I hope after I drift off, from a nightmare I wake.

--

Author's note: This was a poem written for the mini challenge that Real Poetic started up. She's doing these mini challenges and coming up with some fun prompts, so i hope more people go ahead and join in.

nature poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Okay, that would scare the living daylights outta me. Really well done.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Wow. I am claustrophobic. I was going down, then you woke up.. Great work.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    I would literally go crazy. Great job, creating the feel of fear.

  • Jordan Sky Daniels12 months ago

    You had me at the edge of my seat

  • That is so terrifying! Awesome poem!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Oooo I hate small spaces. Terrifying.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Panic-inducing words! Great job, Mohammed!

  • Nice piece 💜💯😉

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.