Poets logo

Mother's Love

Somewhat of a presumptuous little lullaby a mother singing to her child about love.

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Mother's Love
Photo by Douglas Lopez on Unsplash

Love be fire

Love be snow

Love be worn

Love be slow

Love in all ways akin to glow

It can be true but also not

It can last, and be in a knot

---

You ask what love is

I say I know not

But some clue I do got

Did you know love can be fuel?

It runs our life, with the dull to duel

From dawn when the sun goes up

Till you are in bed with a cup

Love is in all

Love is with zest

Love is best when done with no rest

So lay your head here to rest

Mum will love you

And that is no jest

---

Author's note: Obviously, I'm not a mother myself, which is why i say I'm being presumptuous in the subtitle... I didn't mean that the fictional mother was being presumptuous with the poem. (I realised after that the subtitle might read that way, so I wanted to clarify)

inspirationallove poems

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    Awww, such a wonderful poem!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    This is a sweet one!! ❤️❤️ I wasn’t sure what the presumptuous part was so I like that you clarified that too haha

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Beautiful work here, Mohammed. This is a lovely entry for the challenge!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.