Poets logo

Shadow??

Been working on this for years

By Shelby BrookinsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Im living in the shadow of myself

No one will let me go

Chains always holding me down

Why do you feel the need

To push me all the way to the ground

Where im doubting everything in sight

you pile on the lies

But then turn the blame on to me

i try to move past my flaws i see

But its hard with your mirror so close to me

Every time i make a mistake

You want other to change

But we say its her being her

Isnt that the problem

Just letting people get alway with being them

Even if its wrong

Even if it hurts those around

I guess thats whats wrong with us

Being human

We let those run over us

Even the ones we hold close

The ones we called family

Are we just suppose to cut

Just cut all ties with everyone

Or we supposed to let her be her

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shelby Brookins

Its writing about my life that helps me get through the day...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.