Poets logo

Service With a Smile

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
3

Isn’t it dandy

I got a chest full of candy

My body’s broken

But I’ve got my tokens

Of respect

Damaged my back

Damaged my neck

Constant pain

Dripping down my spine

They promise one day I’ll be fine

But right now

It’s all that’s on my mind

Try to unwind after the day

Thinking about all the hardship

For this meager pay

But they all say

“Thank you for your service”

But do we deserve this

Your country needs you

But when it’s done

God forbid they feed you

Much less take care of your ailments

They say "push through it"

But that’s how I blew it

That’s how we are

We work with our scars

Until it’s gone too far

All for what?

To afford college?

A car?

How much you want to bet

You get out

You’re working with no net

You’re just another broken vet

A reject

Promises made

We’ll take care of you

They say

Repeating history

We’re just the new Bonus Army

Here to pay the price

For those too rich

To stick their head in the vice

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
3

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    Thank you for your service, Atomic, & may the day soon come when we all put politics aside & keep the promises we made to you & each every vet. My sister works as a counselor in a V. A. Hospital & I greatly appreciate all they do, but as a country, we promised more.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Awesome poem!!! Well stated!!! Left some love!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.