Poets logo

Falling

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
10
Falling
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

Trying to write

But the toxic slime

Of my mind is intruding

Thoughts

The thought of you

Being gone

So far away again

Here I sit

Trying to write

To finish this book

But whenever I look anywhere

I look for you

Where are you now?

What are you doing?

Are you thinking the same thing?

Or are you too focused on your business

No one will ever bear witness

To this pain inside

True feelings hidden away

Forever they’ll stay

It will be easier

When you’re away

No longer accessible

I wanted you here

Now I can’t stand it

Life is a bandit

Abandoned

And set adrift

To live alone

Too many houses

But not enough homes

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
10

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    This was a very touching and bittersweet poem. Loved this!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Awesome!!!❤️❤️💕!

  • Sending hugs and support for this, sometimes we get caught under these wheels of oppression. Excellent work

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great. I really like "too many houses, but not enough homes." So much truth in that nowadays. Well done.

  • Why is it that we find ourselves even more distracted when there is nothing to distract us?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.