Poets logo

Self Destruct

poems

By Blake RobertPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Self Destruct
Photo by Michael Jin on Unsplash

Through a working day into a snowy slippery night

The roads where slick gleaming off the moonlight

Shimmering my way forward i lost direction

In a since the airbag was my protection

Startled my body left motionless and shook

steaming airbag my left arm in pain took

a moment to gather what had just happened

Onstar right away woke me with fake laughing

puppy in the floorboard scared but not raddled

It was like I was thrown off a bull that just skedaddled

When i approached the turn I did what I made the turn last time

hit the brakes and just leaned to the side

But they locked up and a tree in the woods is where i took my glide

passer byers stopped and called for help and asked if i was alright

this was not how i wanted to spend the rest of the night

just took a break from Ubering eats delivering a 22 mile order

I almost took a wrong turn ended up in the carder

EMT's checked me out I told them I was fine

Did not want to spend my night in the hospital in a country town

Making faces to I just lost everything hospitals gown

I been dealing with grief loss and depression

But in that moment its like i lost all my aggression

to just count my blessings that I walked away

I gave thanks to God night and day

First accident I ever been in I'm 35 and started driving at 18

I felt the sure momentum of just 35 mph into a tree

Tats enough to scare me into taking my time with anything

So i just put on my headphones and sang

Pick me up when I'm down

Feeling the comfort of a jazzy sound

I geta count my luck

And not self destruct

surreal poetryslam poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Blake Robert

I Write to express my own outlook on any giving thing I come across or think about. Please give me insight on things if you have any input to how I can become better at what I do. Remember LoveWhoYouR!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Omggg, that's like such a traumatising experience! I'm so glad you're okay!

Blake RobertWritten by Blake Robert

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.